MEJO *53: Reporting & Writing News: Home

What is in this Guide?

Check out ...

Resources for reporting classes at UNC's Hussman School of Journalism and Media.

America's News
Over 1,200 U.S. newspapers including:
- The (Raleigh) News & Observer full-text articles (1991-present) and full images (March 2018-present)
- The (Greensboro) News & Record (1990-present)
- The Charlotte Observer (1985-present).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
U.S. Newsstream
National and international newspapers, wires and some transcripts. Includes: the New York Times, the L.A. Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Guardian (U.K.).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Ethnic NewsWatch & Alt-PressWatch
Search ethnic and minority press, along with alternative, independent presses in the United States. Some from 1950s, but most 1970s-present.

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Search the White Pages for finding individuals.
Or find business info. for over 14 million companies. Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: Current information only
Statista
Data on topics such as pet ownership, music sales, poverty, social media use, and much more. Or browse their market research categories. View online and download as Excel .
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Current issues ... on Facebook... on Twitter ... on YouTube
Print archive, Sept. 2017 to present.
Issues on Scribd (full-image of the daily paper), January 2010-April 2017
Online between 1893-1992 at
- Digital NC (open to all)
- Newspapers.com (UNC login required)
Bound volumes
- in the North Carolina Collection for "most years;" NCC will refer you to microfilm in most cases.
- in the Park Library. 1927 - spring 2009
Full issues on microfilm
- in the North Carolina Collection 1893-present (C071 T16). Free registration required to use the NCC; more info
- in Davis Library, 1982-present (Serial 1-1414)
Headline Archive 1970-2015. Retired May 2020.
Print Index, August 1970- August 1991 available in Davis (LH1.U6 D34 Index)
Online historic archives. Dates vary; include 1900s through 1960s. Search via archive.org and download as pdf.

Archive.org DTH website
Browse some issues of the archived version of the DTH website. 2000-present.
Wayback Machine DTH
Browse some issues of the archived version of the DTH on unc.edu. 1997-2000.

Journalist's Resource
Information about news topics "through a research lens." From Harvard's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy. See especially their coverage of: immigration | the environment | health care

CQ Researcher
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. From the Congressional Quarterly. 1991 to present.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: 1991-present

We're here to help! To reach us...

Email: parkadmin@listserv.unc.edu

Call only: 919-843-1842

Text only: 919-442-8077

With your ONYEN and password you have off-campus access to most subscription resources.

Instructions for accessing a resource from off-campus:

Use the library link for the resource (from a research guide or the database list).
Log in with your ONYEN and password when prompted.
Search and research like you normally would.

We welcome the use of our collections and services by all students and researchers.