Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Social Work Library Resources: Articles
Articles+
Articles+ is a platform where you can search all of the Library's electronic subscriptions, including journal articles and e-books. It can be a great place to start your search.
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Top Databases for the School of Social Work
Listed below are some databases commonly used for research in social work.
Social Work
- Social Services AbstractsSocial Services Abstracts indexes and abstracts current journals and other periodicals in the disciplines of social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work AbstractsThe Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains records, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Health Sciences & Psychology
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Multidisciplinary
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
Education
- ERICProduced by the Educational Resource Information Center, ERIC provides indexing and abstracting for journal and report literature (1966 to the present) in education and related disciplines.
- Education Full TextCovers more than 770 periodicals in the field of education, and selected books and annuals. Indexing from 1983-present; Full text coverage includes more than 350 journals from 1983-present.
Note: We are limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Search Strategy Template
Download or copy the document below to track your database searches. An example search strategy process begins on page 4.
Databases A-Z
See the full list of databases available at UNC here.
Google Scholar @ UNC
Link UNC Subscriptions to Google Scholar
You can link UNC Libraries' digital subscriptions to your Google Scholar profile to gain access to full text articles.
- Click on the horizontal bars to show the left navigation menu, and select Settings
- Select Library Links
- Search for "University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill"
- Click Save. That's it!
Once you have saved this link, you will see a "Find@UNC" link next to articles in a Google Scholar search results page.
Right click & open this photo in a new tab for a larger view.