Foodways in the American South: North Carolina Foodways

Foodways in North Carolina is represented across all of the 5 collecting areas at Wilson Special Collections Library, with particular concentration in the library's North Carolina Collection. Checking the Archival Collections tab reveals that there are many manuscript collections in Wilson Special Collections Library with North Carolina foodways content.

Agriculture is very closely linked to foodways, and it is recommended to consider this dimension when researching foodways in North Carolina. This research guide will prove useful.

The North Carolina Collection, one of the five collecting areas within Wilson Special Collections Library, holds hundreds of cookbooks from across the state. They vary greatly as far as time period, geography, and cuisine. Searching by subject heading is recommended:

Cooking - North Carolina

Genre or Form:

Cookbooks

Community Cookbooks

If the cookbook is digitized, there will be a link the book's record to a digital version. You can also go directly to digital libraries where we make our content available, and search there for cookbooks:

Internet Archive - UNC Libraries

ncephemerals (within Internet Archive)

Postcards: Choose "Browse by Subject" and this proves a handy way to get to food subjects like "restaurants." You can also search by keyword.

Portal into what is digitized from the North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives (NCCPA): Search this portal with keywords and subjects related to food.

North Carolina Digital Heritage Center

DigitalNC is a project of the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center, a statewide digitization and digital publishing program that works with cultural heritage organizations of all sizes across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online. We are housed in the North Carolina Collection at UNC’s Wilson Special Collections Library.

Search for subject keywords like cookery.

Search newspapers to find things like advertising, recipes and more.