Southern Film Guide: Watch Online
Feature Films and Documentaries to Stream
Projectr - a collection of fictional narrative, shorts, documentary and educational films on a wide array of humanities, arts, global cultures and social justice topics
AVON - 70,000+ titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; primarily documentaries and educational film. search by title, subject, or related-
Docuseek - a collection of documentaries and educational films geared toward a wide range of disciplines
Swank Digital Campus - feature films and documentaries requested for specific course reserves
NC Live - Films On Demand - a wide collection of documentary, educational and news or speech related media on a wide range of subject areas. you can search for content by title in Films on Demand.
Filmmakers Library Online - a small collection of documentaries dealing with a wide range of social, historical issues & cultures
Ethnographic Video Online - an important collection of ethnographic educational and documentary films
Kanopy - specific course reserves for classes - includes educational shorts and documentaries
BBC Shakespeare Plays - classic productions of all of Shakespeare's plays
Additional Streaming Media
Counseling and Therapy in Video - Videos for the study of counseling and social work
Health and Society in Video - Exploring medical progress in health and wellness issues
Nursing Education in Video - Educational and training videos for nurses
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video - Videos focused on the physical therapy of patients
Arts & Design
Opera in Video - The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history
PBS - Great Performances - Classical performance documentaries
Shakespeare Performance in Asia - Videos, photos and text from performances in Asia
Silent Animation - From the UCLA Film and Television archive, for additional notes on each film check the original page on the Wayback Machine
UbuWeb - Media dedicated to avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts with over 2,500 full length films
Culture, Ethnography, & Folklife
American Indian Film Gallery - Over 450 films by and about America's First Nation people
Civil Rights Digital Library - Streaming media related to the Civil Rights Movement
Folkstreams - Full length documentaries about America's Roots Cultures
Library of Congress - Records of the American experience
PBS - POV - Acclaimed series, a variety of full-length and short films
Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Films - Streaming documentary projects
WNET Thirteen - SOUL! - Episodes from the 1970s all black variety show
World Digital Library - Provides access to digitized items from around the world
Open Culture Film - site curating links to 1000+ global films available streaming for free
Top Documentary Film - collection of documentary films; while primarily made in the US, many offer worldview
Vimeo - collection of narrative, doc, shorts, animation, etc made worldwide and offered via vimeo; this is a hybrid service of free and pay-per-view
Fandor - a pay-per-view/subscription streaming database offering a uniquely curated world cinema and indie cinema collection
NFBC - National Film Board of Canada site with features, docs, animated, interactive and emerging media
and for more info on Global film: check out Screenville's World Cinema Resource
Education in Video - The collection covers a broad range of education topics
PBS - LearningMedia - Public media content produced specifically for PreK - 16 teachers
TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design - Collection of short presentations and speeches on a variety of topics
Sloan Science and Film – Award winning short films by students from leading film schools
Thanhouser Films Online - Over 50 streaming films from the Thanhouser Company Film Preservation
Korean Film Archive - via Youtube
Mosfilm playlist - via Youtube (Mosfilm, one of Russia's largest and oldest film studios)
AdViews - Thousands of historic commercials created from the 1950s - 1980s
BBC Online - BBC archive home to themed collections of radio and television programs
Frontline - Video of select Frontline programming
Media That Matters - Short films that showcase topics of interest from around the world
PBS - NOVA - Acclaimed series of selected films and programs available online
WGBH Open Vault - Selected video excerpts and transcripts from public television's WGBH
Media Librarian
Media & Design Center
Can't Find it @ UNC
Can I ...?
Can I stream.it is a free service that searches the most popular streaming websites to help you find movies and TV shows your wanting to screen right away online.
Can I stream.it searches these sites:
- Netflix
- Amazon
- HuluPlus
- Hitbliss
- Crackle
- Redbox instant
- YouTube
- Epix
- Xfinity Streampix
