Skip to main content

Film & Streaming Media : Watch Online

Curated guide for faculty and students using film & streaming media.

Stream Films Now!

Check out the trailers and links below to a sample of the films currently streaming online

                                      

 

 

 

 Watch The Tin Drum Online   

 

         

Watch I am Jane Doe Online

         

  Watch My Love, Don't Cross that River Online 

            

 Watch Green Book Online

 

Watch Amélie Online

           

Watch BBC Shakespeare Plays Online

Want more? Check out our streaming platforms.

Feature Films and Documentaries to Stream

Kanopy - thousands of classic feature films, educational shorts and documentaries

Docuseek - a collection of documentaries and educational films geared toward a wide range of disciplines

Swank Digital Campus - feature films and documentaries

NC Live - Films On Demand - you can search for content by title in Films on Demand. Please note that captions/transcripts are still being assigned.

MEF Digital - a collection of films that inspire critical reflection on the impact of American mass media.

Filmmakers Library Online - a small collection of documentaries dealing with a wide range of social, historical issues & cultures

Film Platform - a collection of leading documentary films

Ethnographic Video Online - an important collection of ethnographic educational and documentary films

BBC Shakespeare Plays - classic productions of all of Shakespeare's plays

Additional Streaming Media

Health Sciences

Counseling and Therapy in Video - Videos for the study of counseling and social work

Health and Society in Video - Exploring medical progress in health and wellness issues

Nursing Education in Video - Educational and training videos for nurses

Rehabilitation Therapy in Video - Videos focused on the physical therapy of patients


 

Arts & Design

Opera in Video - The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history

PBS - Great Performances - Classical performance documentaries

Shakespeare Performance in Asia - Videos, photos and text from performances in Asia

Silent Animation - From the UCLA Film and Television archive

UbuWeb - Media dedicated to avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts with over 2,500 full length films

 

Culture, Ethnography, & Folklife

American Indian Film Gallery - Over 450 films by and about America's First Nation people

Civil Rights Digital Library - Streaming media related to the Civil Rights Movement

Folkstreams  - Full length documentaries about America's Roots Cultures

Library of Congress American Memory Project - Records of the American experience

PBS - POV - Acclaimed series, a variety of full-length and short films

Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Films - Streaming documentary projects

WNET Thirteen - SOUL! - Episodes from the 1970s all black variety show

World Digital Library - Provides access to digitized items from around the world

 

Global

Snag Films - collection of global narrative and documentary films via Snagfilms' database with Indiewire

Open Culture Film - site curating links to 1000+ global films available streaming for free

Top Documentary Film - collection of documentary films; while primarily made in the US, many offer worldview

Vimeo - collection of narrative, doc, shorts, animation, etc made worldwide and offered via vimeo; this is a hybrid service of free and pay-per-view

Fandor - a pay-per-view/subscription streaming database offering a uniquely curated world cinema and indie cinema collection

NFBC - National Film Board of Canada site with features, docs, animated, interactive and emerging media

and for more info on Global film: check out Screenville's World Cinema Resource

 

Education

Annenberg Media - Educational programming covering a wide range of disciplines

Education in Video - The collection covers a broad range of education topics

PBS - LearningMedia - Public media content produced specifically for PreK - 16 teachers

TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design - Collection of short presentations and speeches on a variety of topics

 

Film Archives

Internet Archives - Over 100,000 free videos and films online

Sloan Science and Film Award winning short films by students from leading film schools

Thanhouser Films Online - Over 50 streaming films from the Thanhouser Company Film Preservation

Korean Film Archive - via Youtube

Mosfilm playlist - via Youtube (Mosfilm, one of Russia's largest and oldest film studios)

 

Television & Documentary News

AdViews - Thousands of historic commercials created from the 1950s - 1980s

BBC Online - BBC archive home to themed collections of radio and television programs

Frontline - Video of select Frontline programming

Media That Matters - Short films that showcase topics of interest from around the world

PBS - NOVA - Acclaimed series of selected films and programs available online

WGBH Open Vault Selected video excerpts and transcripts from public television's WGBH

Is it Streaming?

These websites are free services that search the most popular streaming websites (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and more) to help you find movies and TV shows to screen right away online.

justwatch logo

Can't Find it @ UNC?

Can't find the film you'e looking for at the MRC? Here's a list of sites online that might offer it free or for a fee: 

Media Librarian

Winifred Metz's picture
Winifred Metz
Contact:
Media Resources Center,
Undergraduate Library
(919) 962-4099
  • Last Updated: Sep 9, 2020 11:43 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/streaming