Box 1 Title Here
Beekeeping
Beekeeping (or apiculture) is the maintenance of bee colonies, commonly in artificial beehives. Honey bees in the genus Apis are the most commonly kept species but other honey producing bees such as Melipona stingless bees are also kept. Beekeepers (or apiarists) keep bees to collect honey and other products of the hive: beeswax, propolis, bee pollen, and royal jelly. Other sources of beekeeping income include pollination of crops, raising queens, and production of package bees for sale. Bee hives are kept in an apiary or "bee yard".
History & Current Practices
The earliest evidence of humans collecting honey are from Spanish caves paintings dated 6,000 BCE,[1] however it is not until 3,100 BCE that there is evidence from Egypt of beekeeping being practiced.[2] In the modern era, beekeeping is often used for crop pollination and the collection of its by products, such as wax and propolis. The largest beekeeping operations are agricultural businesses but many small beekeeping operations are run as a hobby. As beekeeping technology has advanced, beekeeping has become more accessible, and urban beekeeping was described as a growing trend as of 2016.[3] Some studies have found city-kept bees are healthier than those in rural settings because there are fewer pesticides and greater biodiversity in cities.[4]
Find more beekeeping information
-
Getting Started with BeekeepingLearn more about the steps and equipment to begin beekeeping yourself.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Books
-
The Beekeeper's Handbook
by
ISBN: 9781501752612Publication Date: 2021-04-15Diana Sammataro and Alphonse Avitabile have created the best single-volume guide to the hobby and profession of beekeeping. The Beekeeper's Handbook provides step-by-step instructions for setting up an apiary, handling bees, and working throughout the season to maintain a healthy colony and a generous supply of honey. Various colony care options and techniques are explained so that beekeepers can make the best choices for their hives. The Beekeeper's Handbook is an invaluable resource for both beginner and veteran beekeepers. This fully updated and expanded fifth edition includes: *Hand-drawn instructional diagrams that provide step-by-step instructions*Updated research regarding the health and behaviors of bees in different habitats and what operations may best suit individual needs*Information on how to identify, treat, and prevent the introduction of Varroa destructor mites and other harmful intruders in a colony*
Beekeeping YouTube Video
Finding Research Material
When choosing a research tool to find information on environmental topics, there are several things to keep in mind:
- What type of information do I want (e.g. Science journals, popular magazine articles, news reports, government publications)? Different databases may focus on particular document types. See also: How do I distinguish between different types of journals?
- What subject areas am I interested in? Each database has a particular subject scope that you need to be aware of, e,g, public policy, environmental health, economic development.
- What are the potential assumptions or biases behind the resources? Think critically about the the information you will find.
The resources below are a selection of those available that cover environmental issues, but make sure to look at our longer list of resources in the environmental sciences.
-
GreenFILE
- Multidisciplinary database of information on the human impact on the environment
- Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments
- Indexing and abstracts of an extensive number of records, as well as Open Access full text records
- Connections between the environment and the disciplines of agriculture, education, law, health and technology
- Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling
Note: Best used with Internet Explorer or Firefox. -
PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
-
Environment CompleteJournals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
-
Alt-PressWatchAlt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.
-
World Development ReportThe World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is a guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today.
