Trade: Home
Purpose of Research Guide
This guide curates research and information sources for business. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources.
Want guidance?
- Email a business research consultant/librarian:
Nancy Lovas, Davis Library: nancy64@email.unc.edu
Kenan Flagler Research Librarian: Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu - Schedule a consultation appointment with a business librarian.
Introduction to Trade Data and Commodity Codes
In trade data, numbering codes are used to identify commodities (i.e. products or raw materials). These "commodity codes" are hierarchical -- the longer the number, the more specific the commodity. A short commodity code, on the other hand, indicates a broad category of commodities. See below for examples of such hierarchies.
Aggregated data means using a short (ex. 2- or 3-digit) commodity number, in which many commodities are lumped together. For example, if you need import data for "clothing," you would be looking for aggregated data.
Disaggregated data involves using a long commodity number, in which a very specific commodity is specified. To research "cotton men's or boys' shirts, knitted," for example, you would be looking for disaggregated data.
It's helpful to determine the commodity code(s) you need before searching a trade database. Otherwise, you may waste a lot of time figuring out what to search for. On the other hand, sometimes you won't be able to find good trade data for the commodity you chose. In that case, you may want to play around with the data source to see what commodities are researchable.
SITC and HS are two commonly-used commodity codes. SIC and NAICS, codes for industries, can also used for trade data.
Commodity codes are updated periodically. You may see the revision number or year next to the code abbreviation, as in "SITC (rev 3)".
Trade Classification Codes (HS, SITC)
Harmonized System (HS)
Also called Harmonized Tariff Code (HTC), this coding system is used by the U.S. Government to classify U.S. imports and exports. Exports codes (called Schedule B) are administered by the U.S. Census Bureau. Import codes are administered by the U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC). The export codes can be up to 10 digits long. Here is an example of a hierarchy from HS:
61 Articles of apparel and clothing accessories, knitted or crocheted
6103 Men's or boys' suits, ensembles, suit-type jackets...knitted or crocheted
6103.19 Of other textile materials
6103.19.20 Of cotton
6103.12.20.10 Jackets imported as parts of suits
-
HS Export Codes (Schedule B)
Browse or search for the codes.
Standard Industrial Trade Classification (SITC)
This system is used by the United Nations to track world-wide imports and exports. The codes can be up to 5 digits long. They aren't as detailed as the Harmonized System (see below). Here is an example of a hierarchy from SITC:
84 Articles of apparel and clothing accessories
841 Men's or boys' coats, jackets, suits, trousers, shirts, underwear etc. of woven textile fabrics
8415 Shirts
84151 Of cotton
International/World Data
- European Commission Access2MarketsTrade statistics, market access and trade barriers between European Union countries and the rest of the world.
- International Trade CentreFree global data from the United Nations. Covers up to 6-digit HS codes. Register for free for full access.
- ComtradeFrom the United Nations.
Uses up to 5-digit SITC codes and 6-digit HS codes.
U.S. Trade Data
- USA Trade OnlineProvides trade data for the U.S., states, and ports. Up to 10-digit HS codes. Requires free registration.
- USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWebCovers up to 10-digit HS codes.
Free registration is required.
- TradeStats ExpressFrom export.gov (but also covers imports).
Useful for visual representations of US trade information. Uses up to 4-digit HS or 3-digit SITC codes.
- Trade Data OnlineA free site from Canada that also includes U.S. data. Supports rankings of top commodities. Creates graphs. Uses up to 6-digit HS codes.
U.S. State and Metro-Level Data
- USA Trade OnlineProvides trade data for the U.S., states, and ports. Up to 10-digit HS codes. Requires free registration.
- TradeStats ExpressOnly covers export data for states. Useful for visual representations of US trade information. Only uses NAICS for state data.
Export Tariffs
- FTA Tariff Tool, export.govCovers tariffs for US export and imports from US free trade agreement countries. Access up to 10-digit HS codes.
Import Tariffs
- U.S. Tariff and Trade Data for a Specific ProductFrom the U.S. International Trade Commission. Search this database by product name (ex. hosiery) or HS code. Provides tariff treatments as well as customs value of recent U.S. imports for consumption (with links for more data).
- HTS Import Codes and Duty RatesIncludes general and specific duty rates for each HS code.
Data & Statistics (International)
- World DataBankOffers an analysis and visualization tool of economic, social and environmental indicators. Contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Users can create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps, and easily save, embed, and share them.
- Penn World TablesPWT version 10.0 is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 183 countries between 1950 and 2019.
- UNdataProvides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
- International Monetary Fund DataProvides IMF data from International Financial Statistics, World Economic Outlook, and many other datasets. The IMF provides technical assistance and training on critical economic issues to central banks, finance ministries, tax authorities, and other economic institutions.
- Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. - StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies. - Sage DataAccess data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. Data come from U.S. and international sources. For help, see the user guide.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionIncludes spreadsheets from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data, which provides up to 370 variables for G20 countries, 1982-present, updated monthly. Use the Browse option to find these, and then change the sort to "Most recent".
Guides on Trade and Trade Data
Business Research Consultant/Librarian
