Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Veterinary Medicine: Species Specific e-Books
UNC subscribed library resources for Laboratory Animal & Veterinary Medicine
Created by Health Science Librarians
Rodents
The Laboratory Mouse by
-- This new edition offers significant new information, regarding new technologies like CRISPR-Cas, new housing systems and management practices (including metabolic cages), a table on injection volumes and recommended needle sizes, info on new concepts such as pain assessment by facial expression, possible anesthetic reversal agents, and the potential impact of common procedures on animal welfare. The regulatory section has been entirely updated. The book is now more relevant to an international audience, addressing differing regulations across borders. -- With the advent of transgenic and other genetic engineering technologies, the versatility and usefulness of the mouse as a model in biomedical research has soared. As a result, mouse colonies everywhere are expanding, and scientists who previously focused on other models are turning their attention to the mouse. These researchers and their lab technicians need a handy, quick and up-to-date reference guide to inform them of best practice when working with these animals. -- Unlike existing books on laboratory mice, this book focuses not only on veterinary medicine but also offers detailed information regarding management and behavior of mice. It also offers a concise synopsis of material relevant to those working with, and caring for, laboratory mice, making for an easily-used reference.
ISBN: 9780367373207Publication Date: 2023
Liu's Principles and Practice of Laboratory Mouse Operations by
This book fills the current void of academic writings on laboratory mouse operation, giving research scientists, graduate students, and laboratory technicians an authoritative textbook and definitive laboratory companion. It covers mouse anatomy, the handling of the mouse, anesthesia, drug administration, specimen collection, organ harvesting and daily laboratory skills as well as advanced micro-surgery techniques. Its detailed description of mouse anatomy corrects many inaccuracies and misconceptions in the literature. It provides a wealth of basic laboratory skills and numerous advanced surgical techniques. The step-by-step explanations, with extensive photographic images and videos, improve the current understanding and practice of laboratory mouse operations. This book lays the foundation of laboratory mouse operations by offering a clear understanding of the basic principles, updated anatomic studies, and providing invaluable practical tools. It serves a wide audience, including laboratory animal scientists, pharmaceutical science researchers, graduate students in these fields, micro surgeons, veterinarians, and laboratory technicians.
ISBN: 9783030745004Publication Date: 2023
The Mouse in Biomedical Research by
Immunology, the third volume in the four volume set, The Mouse in Biomedical Research, is a completely new addition to this series, dedicated to mouse immunology. It is based on the vast body of knowledge which has made the mouse the model of choice when studying immunity in man. Arguably more is known about the immune system in mice than any other species except man. In large part this is due to the power of genetic engineering to delineate molecular mechanisms. In this volume we present an Overview to mouse immunology, including both the innate and adaptive immune systems, followed by 15 chapters, each dealing with a specific area of immunology in the mouse. These chapters illustrate the power of genetic engineering in dissecting each component of the immune response from the development of lymphoid tissues to signal transduction pathways in activated cells.
ISBN: 9780080469089Publication Date: 2007
The Laboratory Rat by
The Laboratory Rat, Second Edition features updated information on a variety of topics including: rat genetics and genomics, both spontaneous and induced disease; state-of-the-art technology for housing and husbandry; occupational health, and experimental models. A premier source of information on the laboratory rat that will be of interest to veterinary and medical students, senior graduate, graduate students, post-docs and researchers who utilize animals in biomedical research. At least 50% new information than first edition Includes topics on rat genetics and genomics, occupational health, and experimental models The premier source of information on the laboratory rat
ISBN: 9780080454320Publication Date: 2006
The Behavior of the Laboratory Rat by
More is known about the behavior, anatomy, and molecular biology of the laboratory rat than any other animal species. Although its natural history and psychological functions have been described previously in books, this is the first comprehensive description of its behavior. Both seasonedand beginning investigators will be amazed at the range and complexity of the species as described in the 43 chapters of this volume. The behavioral descriptions are closely tied to the laboratory methods from which they were derived, thus allowing investigators to correlate the behavior andmethods and exploit them in their own research. This book is aimed at investigators in neuroscience who may not be familiar with rat behavior, but who wish to incorporate behavioral studies into their own research. Nevertheless, seasoned investigators will also find the book to be a handyreference for behavioral paradigms with which they may not be familiar. It is expected that as the genetic and molecular understanding of the rat develops, there will be an increasing need for knowledge about rat behavior. This book will serve as an indispensable resource for neuroscientists,psychologists, pharmacologists, geneticists, molecular biologists, zoologists, and their students and trainees.
ISBN: 9780195162851Publication Date: 2005
Rat Jugular Vein and Carotid Artery Catheterization for Acute Survival Studies: a Practical Guide by
Jugular vein and carotid artery cannulations are among the most widely used surgeries in research labs around the world. These cannulations are extremely important for confirmed intravenous delivery of test substances and arterial blood collection. Cannulation reduces the stress of multiple sampling as observed in association with tail vein or orbital sinus techniques (Ling, 2003; Flynn, 1988; Cocchetto, 1983). Very few adverse effects, including a possible rise of corticosterones and a decrease in platelets, are associated with indwelling catheters except under chronic conditions (Fagin, 1983; Richman, 1980). Typically, technicians teach these skills to incoming employees and move on to graduate studies or other fields. A resulting 'oral history' of cannulation has been passed down from technician to technician. I have endeavored to capture these techniques on paper. Through the years, I have searched for and collected a number of training materials and guides for teaching purposes. This is my attempt to compile all the necessary information in one source. The contents of this manual include two cannulation procedures detailed in a format of materials, instruction, and pictorial for each step. In addition, the manual is rounded out with information regarding procedures for anesthesia, pre- and post- operatives, anatomy, bleeding techniques using catheters implanted, and rat biodata compiled from numerous sources. The content is thoroughly researched and reported based on over 80 references and 7 reviewers suggestions."
ISBN: 9781280938061Publication Date: 2007
Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents by
A concise guide to the care of small mammals, Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery covers the conditions seen most often in veterinary practice. The book emphasizes preventive medicine along with topics including disease management, ophthalmology, dentistry, and zoonosis. More than 400 illustrations demonstrate key concepts related to radiographic interpretation, relevant anatomy, and diagnostic, surgical, and therapeutic techniques. Now in full color, this edition adds coverage of more surgical procedures and expands coverage of zoonotic disease. From editors Katherine Quesenberry and James W. Carpenter, along with a team of expert contributors, the "Pink Book" provides an authoritative, single source of information that is hard to find elsewhere.A logical organization makes it quick and easy to find important information, with each section devoted to a single animal and chapters within each section organized by body system.Over 400 photographs and illustrations highlight key concepts such as radiographic interpretation and the main points of diagnostic, surgical, and therapeutic techniques.A chapter on ophthalmology provides hard-to-find information on eye care for ferrets, rabbits, rodents, and other small mammals.Coverage of preventive medicine includes basic biology, husbandry, and routine care of the healthy animal.The drug formulary supplies dosage instructions for ferrets, rabbits, guinea pigs, chinchillas, hamsters, rats/mice, prairie dogs, hedgehogs, and sugar gliders.Chapter outlines offer at-a-glance overviews of the contents of each chapter.Handy tables and charts make it easy to find key information. Expanded Zoonotic Diseases chapter adds more depth along with the latest information on the rising potential for disease transmission to humans as exotic pets become more popular.Additional surgical procedures for each species are included, some with step-by-step instructions accompanied by color photographs and line drawings.Full-color images show the sometimes minute structures of these small animals and make accurate diagnoses easier, especially for lymphoproliferative diseases of rabbits, endoscopy, cytology, and hematology.
ISBN: 9781437702880Publication Date: 2012
The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and Other Rodents by
The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and Other Rodents is a single volume, comprehensive book sanctioned by the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM), covering the rabbit, guinea pig, hamster, gerbil and other rodents often used in research. This well-illustrated reference won a 2012 PROSE Award for Best Single Volume Reference in Science from the Association of American Publishers. The book includes basic biology, anatomy, physiology, behavior, infectious and noninfectious diseases, husbandry and breeding, common experimental methods, and use of the species as a research model. With many expert contributors, this will be an extremely valuable publication for biomedical researchers, laboratory animal veterinarians and other professionals engaged in laboratory animal science.
ISBN: 9780123809209Publication Date: 2012
- More Laboratory Mouse Library BooksRequest print books for delivery by Carolina Blue service
Rabbits and Ferrets
- Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents by
A concise guide to the care of small mammals, Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery covers the conditions seen most often in veterinary practice. The book emphasizes preventive medicine along with topics including disease management, ophthalmology, dentistry, and zoonosis. More than 400 illustrations demonstrate key concepts related to radiographic interpretation, relevant anatomy, and diagnostic, surgical, and therapeutic techniques. Now in full color, this edition adds coverage of more surgical procedures and expands coverage of zoonotic disease. From editors Katherine Quesenberry and James W. Carpenter, along with a team of expert contributors, the "Pink Book" provides an authoritative, single source of information that is hard to find elsewhere.A logical organization makes it quick and easy to find important information, with each section devoted to a single animal and chapters within each section organized by body system.Over 400 photographs and illustrations highlight key concepts such as radiographic interpretation and the main points of diagnostic, surgical, and therapeutic techniques.A chapter on ophthalmology provides hard-to-find information on eye care for ferrets, rabbits, rodents, and other small mammals.Coverage of preventive medicine includes basic biology, husbandry, and routine care of the healthy animal.The drug formulary supplies dosage instructions for ferrets, rabbits, guinea pigs, chinchillas, hamsters, rats/mice, prairie dogs, hedgehogs, and sugar gliders.Chapter outlines offer at-a-glance overviews of the contents of each chapter.Handy tables and charts make it easy to find key information. Expanded Zoonotic Diseases chapter adds more depth along with the latest information on the rising potential for disease transmission to humans as exotic pets become more popular.Additional surgical procedures for each species are included, some with step-by-step instructions accompanied by color photographs and line drawings.Full-color images show the sometimes minute structures of these small animals and make accurate diagnoses easier, especially for lymphoproliferative diseases of rabbits, endoscopy, cytology, and hematology.
ISBN: 9781437702880Publication Date: 2012
- The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and Other Rodents by
The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and Other Rodents is a single volume, comprehensive book sanctioned by the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM), covering the rabbit, guinea pig, hamster, gerbil and other rodents often used in research. This well-illustrated reference won a 2012 PROSE Award for Best Single Volume Reference in Science from the Association of American Publishers. The book includes basic biology, anatomy, physiology, behavior, infectious and noninfectious diseases, husbandry and breeding, common experimental methods, and use of the species as a research model. With many expert contributors, this will be an extremely valuable publication for biomedical researchers, laboratory animal veterinarians and other professionals engaged in laboratory animal science.
ISBN: 9780123809209Publication Date: 2012
Textbook of Rabbit Medicine by
The new Textbook of Rabbit Medicine draws on the latest information from around the world to make it a truly global resource on all aspects of rabbit medicine and health. It will continue to be indispensable to veterinary surgeons in general practice, veterinary students, referral veterinarians specializing in exotic pets, and veterinary surgeons studying for certificates in advanced veterinary practice. The book is carefully constructed to allow for the biology, husbandry and clinical techniques that pertain to rabbit medicine to be treated comprehensively and conveniently. Clinical chapters follow a logical progression from clinical pathology, through anaesthesia, therapeutics and diseases covered by body system, to surgery and post-mortem examination. The author offers a strong emphasis on clinical practice to ensure the content is as practically useful and accessible as possible. Key points boxes integrated throughout the book provide a stand-alone précis of important subjects. New clinical techniques boxes are packed with tips from a practising expert who regularly applies this same information in practice. Comprehensive, in-depth and authoritative coverage of the health and diseases of the domestic rabbit Detailed and explicit line artwork provides a clear understanding of physiological processes A practical, evidence-based resource for the effective treatment of pet rabbits. New to the second edition A new expert author revises and reframes the original classic text for today's practitioners and students Content is thoroughly updated to include the latest drugs, anaesthetics and techniques A new full-colour design is used to improve access and navigability Many new colour illustrations and diagrams throughout help emphasize and clarify key content The book's additional clinical emphasis makes this edition more practical than ever before!
ISBN: 9780702049798Publication Date: 2014
Dogs & Cats
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult by
Like having a trusted clinician with you in the exam room, the fully updated Sixth Edition of Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline continues to offer fast access to information in an easy-to-use format. Provides fast access to key information on the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and conditions in dogs and cats Covers 846 specific disorders, making it the most comprehensive quick-reference book on canine and feline medicine Carefully designed for fast searching and reference in the busy practice setting, giving you the confidence to make clinical decisions quickly and appropriately Presents contributions from 379 leading experts specializing in all areas of veterinary medicine Includes access to a companion website with 354 client education handouts for you to download and use in practice, plus images and video clips
ISBN: 9781118881576Publication Date: 2016
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Canine and Feline Infectious Diseases and Parasitology, Second Edition takes a user-friendly alphabetical format to cover a wide spectrum of canine and feline infectious diseases and parasite-related disorders. Part of the popular Five-Minute Veterinary Consult series, it includes information on many specific organisms and diseases, from amebiasis and Ehrlichiosis to rabies and ticks. The text also provides extensive differential diagnostic lists, as well as information on drugs, dosages, toxicity, treatment options, diagnostic testing, immunization recommendations, and cytological appearance. The Second Edition presents three new chapters on canine influenza, sarcoptic mange, and staphylococcal pyoderma. Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Canine and Feline Infectious Diseases and Parasitology, Second Edition is an ideal quick reference for veterinary professionals and students.
ISBN: 9780813820125Publication Date: 2012
Canine and Feline Nephrology and Urology by
The prevalence of urinary tract diseases and disorders in small animal practice is higher than ever. The 2nd edition of Canine and Feline Nephrology and Urology makes it easy to find the information you need to accurately diagnose and manage diseases and disorders of the urinary tract in dogs and cats. Its concise outline format features practical clinical content, line drawings that clearly illustrate the initiation and progression of disease, photographs that demonstrate the clinical appearance of various lesions, and tables and boxes that offer essential information at a glance. Expert authors Dennis J. Chew, Stephen P. DiBartola, and Patricia Schenck keep you current with revised and brand-new content based upon the latest studies and evidence-based medicine, helping you prevent and most effectively manage kidney, bladder, and related conditions.Outline format with concise, clinically focused content helps you quickly and easily find the information you need to accurately diagnose and effectively manage urinary tract diseases and disorders.Practical clinical tips and guidelines including algorithms, FAQs, and case management recommendations.Special boxes highlight key information at a glance.Concise, need-to-know information about renal and lower urinary tract pathophysiology provides essential background for clinical application.Evidence-based coverage of hot topics such as the relationship between behavioral stressors and urinary tract disease, treatments for idiopathic cystitis, and dietary modifications for the prevention and treatment of urinary tract problems helps you provide the latest and best care for your patients.
ISBN: 9781437723595Publication Date: 2011
Canine Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy by
Bridging the gap between human physical therapy and veterinary medicine, Canine Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy, 2nd Edition provides vets, veterinary students, and human physical therapists with traditional and alternative physical therapy methods to effectively evaluate and treat dogs with various debilitating conditions. Coverage includes treatment protocols for many types of cutaneous, neurologic, and musculoskeletal injuries to facilitate a faster and more complete recovery. "Overall, this book is an extensive text for anyone interested in pursuing canine rehabilitation and physical therapy" Reviewed by: Helen Davies, University of Melbourne on behalf of Australian Veterinary Journal, March 2015 Invaluable protocols for conservative and postoperative treatment ensure the successful healing of dogs and their return to full mobility. Printable medical record forms on the companion website, including client information worksheets, referral forms, orthopedic evaluation forms, and more, can be customized for your veterinary practice. Six completely updated chapters on exercising dogs define the basic principles of aquatic and land-based exercise and how they may be applied to dogs, as well as how physical therapy professionals can adapt common "human" exercises to dogs. Numerous chapters on therapeutic modalities, including therapeutic lasers, illustrate how physical therapy professionals can adapt common "human" modalities to dogs. Physical examination chapters offer comprehensive information on orthopedics, neurology, and rehabilitation. New chapters keep you up to date with coverage of joint mobilization, rehabilitation of the athletic patient, biomechanics of rehabilitation, and physical therapy for wound care. A companion website includes 40 narrated video clips of various modalities and exercises used to correct problems with lameness, hip disorders, and gait analysis, plus downloadable and printable orthopedic, neurologic, and physical rehabilitation forms, in addition to a client information worksheet, referral form and letter, and a daily flowsheet form.
ISBN: 9781437703092Publication Date: 2014
The Veterinary Nurse's Practical Guide to Small Animal Anaesthesia by
An accessible guide to small animal anaesthesia for the veterinary practice The Veterinary Nurse's Practical Guide to Small Animal Anaesthesia meets the need for a single practical guide to veterinary anaesthesia and its potential complications. Written by practicing veterinary nurses, the guide analyzes each stage in turn, beginning with a discussion of pre-assessment and pre-medication of patients. Most critically, it reviews the normal functioning of each physiological system in small animals before detailing common problems caused in these systems by anaesthesia. Developed for the day-to-day needs of veterinary nurses, readers will also find: Step-by-step guides to addressing specific issues such as GDV, brachycephalic patients, aggressive patients, and more Detailed guidelines for interpreting common test results and biometrics such as capnography and ECGs Chapters designed for easy reference in specific emergency situations The Veterinary Nurse's Practical Guide to Small Animal Anaesthesia is an essential tool for veterinary nurses and veterinary technicians.
ISBN: 9781119716921Publication Date: 2023
Analgesia and Anesthesia for the Ill or Injured Dog and Cat by
Analgesia and Anesthesia for the Ill or Injured Dog and Cat provides a comprehensive guide to anesthesia and pain management protocols, specifically tailored to ill or critically injured dogs and cats. Provides fast access to anesthesia and pain management protocols specifically tailored to ill or critically injured dogs and cats Takes a case-based structure to make it easy to find and apply relevant information Presents step-by-step clinical procedures and techniques Supplies concise, relevant background information for all drugs recommended in the protocols, highlighting recommendations and cautions for specific patient conditions Includes detailed information for geriatric, pregnant, nursing, and pediatric patients and those with cardiac, liver or kidney pathology
ISBN: 9781119036562Publication Date: 2018
Non-human Primates
Nonhuman Primates in Biomedical Research by
The 2e of the gold standard text in the field, Nonhuman Primates in Biomedical Research provides a comprehensive, up-to-date review of the use of nonhuman primates in biomedical research. The Biology and Management volume provides basic information on the natural biology of nonhuman primates and the current state of knowledge regarding captive management. Each chapter contains an extensive list of bibliographic references, photographs, and graphic illustrations to provide the reader with a thorough review of the subject.
ISBN: 9780123813657Publication Date: 2012
Nonhuman Primates in Biomedical Research by
The 2e of the gold standard text in the field, Nonhuman Primates in Biomedical Research provides a comprehensive, up-to-date review of the use of nonhuman primates in biomedical research. The Diseases volume provides thorough reviews of naturally occurring diseases of nonhuman primates, with a section on biomedical models reviewing contemporary nonhuman primate models of human diseases. Each chapter contains an extensive list of bibliographic references, photographs, and graphic illustrations to provide the reader with a thorough review of the subject.
ISBN: 9780123813664Publication Date: 2012
Livestock Animals
Handbook of Pig Medicine by
Filling a much needed place in veterinary medicine, Handbook of Pig Medicine provides the knowledge needed to recognize, diagnose, treat and control pig diseases in practice. The book includes high quality illustrations which, where appropriate, complement written descriptions of clinical signs. It deals with medical, surgical and reproductive problems in pigs. Clinical examination of the individual pig and the investigation of herd problems are covered in detail, along with a study on pig population medicine. Each body system is considered with special attention to clinical signs, diagnosis and treatment. Additionally, chapters in the book discuss obstetrics, pig haematology and biochemistry as well as differential diagnosis. Other topics discussed, include organic and outdoor pigs; problems of the pet pig, sampling, euthanasia and post-mortem examination. Written by two experienced clinicians and clinical teachers Succinct, reader-friendly text intended for quick and effective use Over 250 high quality colour illustrations support the text Detailed description of clinical examination of pigs - an essential part of diagnosis Provides students and clinicians with the knowledge and the skills to deal with pig patients effectively
ISBN: 9780702028281Publication Date: 2007
Goat Medicine by
GOAT MEDICINE Provides readers with an in-depth understanding of the full range of diseases potentially occurring in goats across the wide spectrum of geographic and management conditions in which goats are kept, from extensive grazing to intensive dairy production to backyard pet. Goat Medicine, Third Edition is a complete resource for understanding caprine diseases worldwide. Covering the latest advances on diagnostic and therapeutic techniques, the two authors, board certified veterinarians with a global experience in goat health and production, offer a comprehensive examination of all important diseases encountered in the goat. The book offers authoritative and clinically relevant information on recognizing, diagnosing, treating, controlling and preventing goat disease at the individual, herd, and national levels. To aid in reader comprehension and promote seamless assimilation of the knowledge contained within, the book is logically organized by body system and includes full color images throughout. Sample topics covered within the work include: Control of economically important infectious diseases including caprine arthritis encephalitis, paratuberculosis and peste des petits ruminants, as well as internal and external parasites Differential diagnosis of chronic weight loss and sudden death, anesthesia, and dehorning/descenting Nutrition and metabolic diseases, herd health management, and preventive medicine Formulary of drugs used in goats and suggested dosages, plus options for alternative medicine Scientists, researchers, government veterinarians, laboratory diagnosticians, industry veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and veterinary practitioners around the world can confidently consult this book time and again as an all-in-one, complete resource for all topics pertaining to goat health and disease.
ISBN: 9781119382737Publication Date: 2023
Veterinary Treatment of Sheep and Goats by
Sheep and goats are farmed worldwide for meat, milk, skins and wool. This diverse range of uses means that many people rely on these animals as a source of income, food and warm clothing, though they can also be kept as pets. With an accessible structure designed for use in the field, this book provides a general veterinary guide to treating common conditions in these animals. It addresses veterinary medicines and their uses, on-site surgery, equipment, normal values and vital signs, vaccination, nutrition, dental treatment, poisoning and dermatology. Worldwide disease conditions are also covered in detail, with a particular focus on the welfare of the animal and economic reality. A valuable field guide for the veterinary practitioner, this book is also essential reading for veterinary students.
ISBN: 9781780640044Publication Date: 2012
Veterinary Treatment of Pigs by
Written from a practitioner's viewpoint, this book covers the everyday veterinary care and treatment of pigs for the large animal veterinarian. Beginning with basic husbandry, maintenance and nutrition, the book then moves onto diagnosing conditions, the necessary equipment and medicines in a veterinarian's arsenal and different treatment options, before describing diseases by body system to create an easy-to-use, practical guide to pig treatment. Equally suitable for veterinarians, veterinary students and pig industry personnel, this book takes a worldwide approach with notifiable diseases as laid out by the OIE covered, as well as poisons and diseases beyond the UK and a full chapter on the dangers and control strategies of zoonotic diseases.
ISBN: 9781780641737Publication Date: 2013- Veterinary Treatment of Sheep and Goats by
Sheep and goats are farmed worldwide for meat, milk, skins and wool. This diverse range of uses means that many people rely on these animals as a source of income, food and warm clothing, though they can also be kept as pets. With an accessible structure designed for use in the field, this book provides a general veterinary guide to treating common conditions in these animals. It addresses veterinary medicines and their uses, on-site surgery, equipment, normal values and vital signs, vaccination, nutrition, dental treatment, poisoning and dermatology. Worldwide disease conditions are also covered in detail, with a particular focus on the welfare of the animal and economic reality. A valuable field guide for the veterinary practitioner, this book is also essential reading for veterinary students.
ISBN: 9781780640044Publication Date: 2012
Exotic, Reptile, & Aquatic Practice
Bacterial Fish Pathogens by
This completely updated fifth edition of Bacterial Fish Pathogens is a comprehensive discussion of the biological aspects of the bacteria which cause disease in farmed and wild fish. Since the 4th edition was published in 2007, there has been an upturn in the application of molecular approaches to taxonomy, diagnosis and vaccine development. New pathogens, e.g. Aeromonas schubertii, have been described. Also, there has been the emergence of diseases caused by bacteria which have not been cultured, and which have been equated with new taxa, i.e. 'Candidatus'. Consideration is given to all the bacterial fish pathogens, including primary pathogens and opportunists.
ISBN: 9789400748835Publication Date: 2012
Essentials of Avian Medicine and Surgery by
Essentials of Avian Medicine and Surgery is designed as a concise quick reference for the busy practitioner and animal nurse. Eminently practical, this classic avian text is prized for its down-to-earth approach. new contributions from world renowned experts in avian medicine new chapter on the special senses of birds, an understanding of which is crucial when giving advice on avian welfare problems fully up-to-date on the latest diagnostic and imaging techniques avian zoonotics are highlighted in infectious diseases section
ISBN: 9781405157551Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of Exotic Pet Medicine by
Easy-to-use, comprehensive reference covering the less common species encountered in general veterinary practice Handbook of Exotic Pet Medicine provides easy-to-access, detailed information on a wide variety of exotic species that can be encountered in general veterinary practice. Offering excellent coverage of topics such as basic techniques, preventative health measures, and a formulary for each species, each chapter uses the same easy-to-follow format so that users can find information quickly while working in the clinic. Presented in full colour, with over 400 photographs, the book gives small animal practitioners the confidence to handle and treat more familiar pets such as budgerigars, African grey parrots, bearded dragons, corn snakes, tortoises, pygmy hedgehogs, hamsters and rats. Other species that may be presented less frequently including skunks, marmosets, sugar gliders, koi carp, chameleons and terrapins are also covered in detail to enable clinicians to quickly access relevant information. Provides comprehensive coverage of many exotic pet species that veterinarians may encounter in general practice situations Presents evidence-based discussions of topics including biological parameters, husbandry, clinical evaluation, hospitalization requirements, common medical and surgical conditions, radiographic imaging, and more The Handbook of Exotic Pet Medicine is an ideal one-stop reference for the busy general practitioner seeing the occasional exotic animal, veterinary surgeons with an established exotic animal caseload, veterinary students and veterinary nurses wishing to further their knowledge.
ISBN: 9781119389941Publication Date: 2021
Current Therapy in Reptile Medicine and Surgery by
Current Therapy in Reptile Medicine and Surgery is a valuable reference that emphasizes topics of real clinical relevance in reptile and amphibian medicine. With details on therapeutic regimens, this text also features coverage of infectious diseases, anesthesia, surgery, and advances in biology and conservation. Colorful illustrations showcase exotic animals, and numerous tables and figures provide quick access to essential information. "This is a great book for anyone interested in herptile medicine and surgery, worth every penny and I am sure will go on to become a regular series." Reviewed by: Jonathan Cracknell. Date: 25/07/2014 Selected topics of real clinical significance from the latest veterinary scientific literature explore today's reptile and amphibian practice. A discussion of the most current theory and practical applications of diagnostic endoscopy in reptiles provides insight into minimally-invasive endoscopic procedures, including biopsy techniques. Expert contributors combine forces to bring you the most cutting-edge information available, offering authoritative and sometimes controversial opinions in particular areas. Expert contributors offer the most current thoughts on diagnosing new and emerging diseases, including a thorough review of molecular diagnostics. The latest therapeutics are discussed, and the most up-to-date formulary and library of normal clinical pathology values is provided. The most current and comprehensive discussion of amphibian medicine in print in the last decade!
ISBN: 9781455708932Publication Date: 2013
Find E-Books
Search the Libraries' Catalog