New Scholarship on the US South: A Wilson Library Fellows Symposium: Join Us

Watch recorded sessions and view photos of the event.

The symposium will be held in the Wilson Special Collections Library.

Wilson Library is located in the center of UNC-Chapel Hill’s campus, directly across South Road from the Morehead-Patterson Bell Tower. If using a GPS device to locate the library, use the following address:

201 South Road
Chapel Hill, NC

The post symposium reception will be held at the historic Love House. If using a GPS device to locate the Love House, use the following address

410 E. Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC

The accessible entrance to Wilson Library is the East-side entrance of the building, facing the Undergraduate Library. There is a ramp and an automatic door. When you enter this East entrance, you are on the first floor.

Inside the building, the elevator is located past the east-side stairwell. The elevator allows access to all public areas in Wilson Library. The main lobby and the Pleasants Family Assembly Room, where the symposium will be located, is located on the second floor.

Parking on Campus

Parking options within a few blocks of Wilson Library include

• The Rams Head Parking Deck at 330 Ridge Road
• Metered parking along South Road and Country Club Road

Check UNC Transportation and Parking’s Visitor Parking page for the current price of parking, the current status of parking availability, and a visitor parking map.

Navigating Chapel Hill and Orange County

The Raleigh Durham International Airport (RDU) is the closest airport to Chapel Hill. Shuttle options from RDU include My RDU Airport Shuttle and Skylink Shuttle.

The nearest Amtrak station to Chapel Hill is in Durham.

The closest Greyhound bus station to Chapel Hill is Durham Station. You can take the Go Triangle Transit 405 route from/to Chapel Hill.

Triangle Transit operates regional bus and shuttle service, paratransit services, ridematching, vanpools, provides commuter resources, and an emergency ride home program for the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area. View the Rider Guide and plan your trip in advance.

Chapel Hill Transit provides public transportation throughout the Chapel Hill, Carrboro, and UNC community. The system is fare-free.

This information comes from the Chapel Hill Visitor Centers’ Transportation page.

The Chapel Hill Visitor Center can help you find a hotel. You can also look through their Official Accessibility Guide to disability-friendly restaurants and hotels in Chapel Hill & Orange County, North Carolina.

Lunch will be provided on November 8 for participants who have pre-registered.

If you're looking to grab a bit to eat on campus, check out What's Open. The dining locations closest to Wilson Library are:

• Carolina Union
• Lenoir Hall
• Student Stores

A few staff favorites on Franklin Street include:

• Carolina Coffee Shop | American
• Cosmic Cantina | Mexican
• Epilogue Books Chocolate Brew | Coffee
• Linda's Bar & Grill | American
• Mediterranean Deli | Mediterranean; Online takeout orders only
• Que Chula Craft Tacos & Tequila Bar | Mexican
• Vimala's Curryblossom Café | Indian

Find more places to eat in the Chapel Hill area by browsing the Chapel Hill Visitor Center's Official Accessibility Guide to disability-friendly restaurants and Hotels in Chapel Hill & Orange County, North Carolina.

November 8th 

Symposium Reception at Love House 

November 8, 2023 5:00-6:30 PM

Reception for conference participants at the Center for the Study of the American South (CSAS), 410 E. Franklin Street, in the historic Love House, a ten-minute walk from Wilson Library.

Building upon a century of scholarship, CSAS is a hub for interdisciplinary research, scholarship, and teaching about the evolving South. It connects campus and the region through public programs, the award-winning quarterly journal Southern Cultures, the Southern Oral History Program, Southern Futures, the Critical Ethnic Studies Collective, and annual research grants and fellowships for undergraduate and graduate students.  Join us for conversation and refreshments. 

Hip Hop South Series: The Underground Collective presents Respect the Producer   

November 8, 2023 7:00 PM 
CURRENT ArtSpace + Studio

Seating is general admission. Guests are invited to choose their price.

Something new is on the way! Respect the Producer, presented by the Underground Collective, will shine a spotlight on the talent behind the scenes. Join us as we showcase the techniques and methods for creating music of various styles. Producers will share the experiences and tools they use to take their work to the next level. In addition, invited beatmakers will share the music they’re currently working on, or create a new sound and complete it during the session.

Learn more about the Underground Collective and purchase tickets.

At Your Leisure

Ackland Art Museum

Check out What’s On View at the Ackland Art Museum including “Pantheress” by George Nakima and "The Outwin: American Portraiture Today."

Admission to the Ackland is always free.

Hours:

Mon-Tue: Closed
Wed-Sat: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sun: 1 to 5 p.m.
Second Friday: 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Black and Carolina Blue Tour

Initially developed as a class project in 2001, the Black and Blue Tour was designed as a walking tour of key sites connected with Black history at the University and in Chapel Hill. In 2020, as part of efforts to evaluate and revise campus history materials, staff in UNC's Wilson Special Collections Library expanded on the original tour to create the Black and Carolina Blue Tour website, which introduces students and visitors to local histories of slavery, racism, memorialization and activism.

North Carolina Collection Gallery

Located in Wilson Special Collections Library, the North Carolina Collection Gallery provides an immersive experience of North Carolina’s history and culture through historic rooms, changing exhibitions, and permanent displays. The current exhibition is "Compasses, Cartouches, and Creatures: Exploring the Art of North Carolina Maps."

Hours:

Mon-Fri: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sat-Sun: Closed

Sonja Haynes Stone Center

The Robert and Sallie Brown Gallery and Museum exhibit space in the Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History is the primary venue for the exhibit of artwork and other collections, supplemented by additional exhibit space in the entry/foyer area of the building.

Hours:

Mon-Fri: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sat-Sun: Closed

Questions about the symposium should be sent to wilsonlibrary@unc.edu.