Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ROML 89 FYS: World Indigenous Literatures: Finding Books and Articles
UNC Catalog Search with Links
Call Numbers in Davis Library
Expand Your Search
From your book search results page you can expand your search to include the TRLN catalog, a searchable catalog of the holdings of Duke, UNC-CH, NCCU, NCSU libraries.
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you will want to know about different types of periodical articles.
The databases listed below are good starting points to find scholarly articles for your research.
General databases:
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
Project MuseProvides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
-
Proquest CentralA general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
-
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.Subject-focused databases:
-
MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
-
North American Indian DramaBrings together the full text of more than 200 plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada , including Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock , and others.
-
North American Indian Thought and CultureBrings together more than 100,000 pages of autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. These documents offer a perspective into the attitudes of native peoples toward the earliest European settlers and the resultant transformations that took place, first as trade was established and later as displacement forced tribes into unfamiliar territories.
-