Zotero

Zotero is a free citation manager. This page offers information that will help you create and build a Zotero library, create and use groups to collaborate, and use Zotero to add properly formatted citations to your papers.

Need help?

Call the HSL at (919) 962-0800 to get immediate help (during library hours).
E-Mail us and the best suited librarian will get back to you promptly (quick answers or one-on-one consultations).
Chat with a HSL Librarian to get help (during business hours).

Using ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib is a free service from Zotero to help you quickly and simply create bibliographies. ZoteroBib lets you seamlessly add items from across the web and generate bibliographies in 10,000+ citation styles. There’s no software to install or account to create, and it works on any device, including tablets and phones.

Create and Edit Citations

Open ZoteroBib in your web browser and paste or type the item URL, ISBN, DOI, PMID, arXiv ID, or title into the Cite box and click the blue "Cite" button to create a citation for your bibliography. You may alternatively input the citation information yourself by clicking the "Manual Entry" button. 

Citing in ZoteroBib

Once you have imported the item's information, you may edit or delete the entry by clicking the corresponding buttons beneath your new citation. 

Edit, Delete, or Close citation

If you select the option to Edit your citation, ZoteroBib will open up a form with the information it imported for you. When you are finished editing your citation, click the "Done" button in the top left corner. 

Edit a Citation

Creating Your Bibliography

Once you have created all of your citations, scroll down to the Bibliography section of ZoteroBib. Here, you may edit the title of your Bibliography by clicking on the word "Bibliography." For example, if you are using APA Style, you can change the title to "References." 

Titling your bibliography

You can also select your preferred citation style by clicking on the down arrow next to the default citation style box. 

Citation style options

Within your Bibliography, you can also create in-text citations by clicking on the "Copy" icon to the right of the citation (outlined in red). 

Copy button for in-text citation

This will open up a dialog box that allows you to input the page number you would like to cite, as well as whether you would like to omit the author's name. 

Creating an in-text citation

Exporting Your Bibliography

To export and save your bibliography, scroll down until you see the section titled "Export." From here, you can copy your bibliography to your clipboard to post in your desired word processor, or you can export your bibliography in several formats (outlined in red). 

Exporting a citation

ZoteroBib automatically stores your bibliography in your web browser's local storage. In other words, even if you close the ZoteroBib tab in your browser, your bibliography will still be there the next time you open it up. If you want to edit your bibliography in another browser or on another computer, a good option is to use "Link to this version." By clicking the "Create" button under "Link to this version," ZoteroBib generates a link to your bibliography for you to use later, so make sure you store it in a safe place.

Link to this version

You may also share your bibliography with someone else by clicking the "Create" button under "Link to this version." This will create a shareable link that will allow other people to view your bibliography in a clean, read-only format.  Whoever you share this link with can also choose to load the bibliography into their own editor; however, if you are looking to collaborate on a bibliography, Zotero is a much more reliable option than ZoteroBib. 

 

 

For more information, check out the ZoteroBib FAQs page.