Memorial Head, 17th century/Ghana; Akan, Twifo region, Hemang city/Terracotta, roots, quartz fragments/Collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Welcome! In this guide you'll find a selection of resources related to African Art and Culture. Please refer to the main guide Art & Architecture and the African Studies guide for additional resources.
African Art & Culture - Biographical & Tribal Information
Points to places to find biographical information for over 5 million people, living and dead. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes various editions of over 700 biographical reference sources, both current and retrospective, that cover historical as well as contemporary figures. Examples of sources indexed would include many of the "Who's Who" indexes, a number of the "Oxford Companions," and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. A complete list of sources and editions is given in the appendix accompanying the documentation.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
A large searchable collections database of 37,000 objects, many of which were brought to this country by missionaries, explorers and travelers. Searchable by culture, object, country, etc., with images.
One of the largest and finest collections in the U.S., and one of the top 20 worldwide, for African objects, most notably Yoruba but others as well. A number of Fowler publications are held in the UNC Library system.
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture located in Harlem, New York is a research unit of The New York Public Library system. It is recognized as one of the leading institutions focusing exclusively on African-American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa, and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward). Subject coverage is wide-ranging and multidisciplinary, crossing the humanities and the social sciences as they relate to Black Studies. (Source: vendor information)
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies, with oldest citations from 1902
In 1991, the Library of Congress Office, Nairobi, began publishing the Quarterly Index to Africana Periodical Literature. Over 300 periodicals which are acquired regularly from the 24 eastern and southern African countries covered by the Nairobi Office are indexed. On the whole, scholarly journals have been selected for indexing. However, considerations other than the scholarly nature of a journal have been taken into account. Journals have also been selected in order to cover subject areas not found in widely available literature (e.g. prisons), to include organizations which do not frequently circulate their publications (e.g. non-governmental organizations), and in order to include at least one title published in each of the countries covered by the Nairobi Office. Final selection for indexing is based on a close examination of each journal title acquired. It is intended to index articles in all languages. Not all the selected journals are indexed exhaustively.
Contains over 175,000 citations from over 750 English and French journals and multi-lingual journal and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African Continent and represents Africana materials. A clickable map is also included.
This open website indexes six types of [English] materials about African women: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; and videocassettes; and has a clickable map. Coverage before 1986 is found in print works at Davis Library.
Includes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1928-present Language: Various
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals surveys thousands of U.S. and foreign journals and is updated on a weekly basis. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals and major serial publications on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. This database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1741-present Language: Various
A freely available thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals published between 1848, the year of the European Revolutions, and 1923 – a functional boundary for works presumed to be in the public domain.
African Art & Culture - Digital Collections: Texts, Images, Media
provides access to trusted information, interpretation and scholarship on the global black experience. Users worldwide can find, in this virtual Schomburg Center, exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Users must register for a free ARTstor account in order to view full size images and download or save content.
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies. Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.