African Art & Culture: Finding Images
Digital Collections: Texts, Images, Media
- Digital Schomburgprovides access to trusted information, interpretation and scholarship on the global black experience. Users worldwide can find, in this virtual Schomburg Center, exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
- ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
- Ackland Art Museum Collections SearchSearch records for every object in the permanent collection, including those on long-term loan to the Museum.
Tip! How to cite images
Citing images from online collections correctly is an important part of conducting research. Providing credit to the publishers of electronic image will enable future scholars to find the correct source quickly. Creating citations also allows students to critically assess the context in which they discovered the image.
- Citing Images (ARTstor)A guide to citing images located in the ARTstor database.
- Citing Images (MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles)A guide authored by the University of Cincinnati Libraries.
Costume
Costume, 1900s, Yoruba peoples, Nigeria, cotton, velvet, flannel, leather, dye, probably wood, cowrie shells, metal, Collection of the Cleveland Museum of Art