African Art & Culture: Finding Articles

Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa, and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward). Subject coverage is wide-ranging and multidisciplinary, crossing the humanities and the social sciences as they relate to Black Studies. (Source: vendor information)

Contains over 175,000 citations from over 750 English and French journals and multi-lingual journal and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African Continent and represents Africana materials. A clickable map is also included.

This open website indexes six types of [English] materials about African women: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; and videocassettes; and has a clickable map. Coverage before 1986 is found in print works at Davis Library.

Includes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.

Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.