This is the "Home" page of the "CHEM 550L: Synthetic Laboratory I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 550L: Synthetic Laboratory I  

Last Updated: Jun 24, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/chem550l Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Science Libraries

The Kenan Science Library is on the ground floor of Venable Hall. The Science Library Annex is located behind Wilson library. See our library page for locations and hours.

 

Chemistry at UNC

 

E-Research Tools

The Library subscribes to a number of E-Research Tools that may be helpful in your research. They are:

AccessScience
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology

CHEMnetBASE
Contains many major chemical reference works in a searchable online format.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
An online reference resource (within CHEMnetBASE) that contains values of constants, properties of organic and inorganic compounds, and other data related to chemistry and physics.

 

Nomenclature

 

Material Safety Data Sheets

Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) contain information on chemicals and their properties along with health, physical, and environmental hazards. As they are provided by manufacturers, there is no centralized location so you may have to look in multiple places.

Chemical and Other Safety Information
Includes useful info such as a glossary of terms related to chemical safety, toxicity abbreviations often included in MSDS, and how to interpret an MSDS.

Where to Find MSDS on the Internet
A guide to finding MSDS. Also includes MSDS-related news and updates.

MSDS Sources to Start With

MSDS Search (National MSDS Repository)
Vermont SIRI MSDS Collection

 

Search the Catalog

   

Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

 

The Chemical Literature

SciFinder Scholar Resources
Searches a wealth of chemical information including 20 million substances, 4.5 million
reactions, 2.2 million patents and documents from 8000 journals.

REAXYS
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions.

Science Citation Index Expanded
The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences.

 

Chemical and Physical Property Information

ChemFinder
Database includes information such as boiling point, CAS registry number, melting point, molecular weight as well as 2-D and 3-D structures of molecules and links to relevant websites for about 75,000 compounds.

Sigma-Aldrich
Free registration is required to access additional features such as materials safety data sheets and NMR and IR spectra. Limited to Sigma-Aldrich products.

 

Spectra and Spectroscopy

ChemSpider
ChemSpider, which aggregates freely available chemical data from across the web, includes downloadable graphs of NMR, IR, near IR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra for many compounds.

Handbook of spectroscopy. Gauglitz, G. and Vo-Dinh, T. (Eds.) (2003)
In addition to guiding users in choosing the appropriate spectroscopic method, this handbook also contains spectral data.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook is a database of thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data and includes IR and UV-Vis spectra for some substances.

REAXYS
REAXYS searches an extensive collection of deeply indexed organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry data from the Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry databases and is continuously updated. NMR, IR, and UV spectra are available for some substances.

SciFinder
SciFinder compiles and makes searchable content from several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including over 55 million substances from CAS REGISTRY, and over 33 million journal article and patent references from CAplus, as well as MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine (NLM) database. Spectra or citations to articles containing spectra are included in substance records where available.

Sigma-Aldrich catalog
Sigma-Aldrich is a major chemical supplier and publisher of spectral libraries, and product records include spectral data or citations to literature containing spectral data where available.

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
SDBS includes FT-IR, 13C and 1H NMR, and Raman spectra for over 33,000 organic compounds (mainly commercial chemical reagents).

Structure determination of organic compounds: tables of spectral data . Pretsch, E., Bühlmann, P., Badertscher, M. (2009)
This volume includes 13C-, 19F-, 31P-, and proton-NMR, infrared and Raman, and UV-Vis spectral data measured by the authors and collected from the literature.

Spectroscopic Tools
Includes primers on IR and NMR as well as background on theory and applications of spectroscopy.

The Basics of NMR
An online primer by Joseph P. Hornak, PhD at Rochester Institute of Technology

Science Librarian

Profile Image
Danianne Mizzy
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

ACS Style Guidelines

ACS Style Guide: References

ACS Style Guide

ACS Style Sheet

The Web pages listed above only include selected aspects of the ACS style guidelines. For a more comprehensive source, see the ACS Style Guide at the Davis, Kenan Science, or Undergraduate Library reference desk.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip