ANTH 190: From Ayahuasca to Zoloft: anthropological approaches to drugs and drug use: Home

Searching Library Resources

Starting Your Search

You can search Articles + AND the library’s catalog through our website here: https://library.unc.edu/

You can find links to individual databases that may be helpful on the E-Research by Discipline page of our website

Searching for Sources Effectively

Follow the Bibliographic Trail: One proven method for gathering reliable information efficiently is to follow the citations or references from one source to another. The author's bibliography can lead you to other sources on the topic
Subject Headings: If you find an interesting title in the Library Catalog or article database, open the record and scroll down to alternate Subject Headings. Click on the link and it will take you to addional materials with the same subject/topic.
Identify keywords: Before searching the Library Catalog or other databases, take a few minutes to write down all the words that describe your topic. Use these words and synonyms in keyword searches.

Questions to consider:

What made this item worth paying attention to?
How is it relevant to your research topic?

Useful titles

A Companion to Medical Anthropology by Merrill Singer (Editor); Pamela I. Erickson (Editor) A Companion to Medical Anthropology examines the current issues, controversies, and state of the field in medical anthropology today. Provides an expert view of the major topics and themes to concern the discipline since its founding in the 1960s Written by leading international scholars in medical anthropology Covers environmental health, global health, biotechnology, syndemics, nutrition, substance abuse, infectious disease, and sexuality and reproductive health, and other topics
ISBN: 9781444395303
Publication Date: 2011-07-15
Comprehending Drug Use by J. Bryan Page Comprehending Drug Use, the first full-length critical overview of the use of ethnographic methods in drug research, synthesizes more than one hundred years of study on the human encounter with psychotropic drugs. J. Bryan Page and Merrill Singer create a comprehensive examination of the whole field of drug ethnography-methodology that involves access to the hidden world of drug users, the social spaces they frequent, and the larger structural forces that help construct their worlds. They explore the important intersections of drug ethnography with globalization, criminalization, public health (including the HIV/AIDS epidemic, hepatitis, and other diseases), and gender, and also provide a practical guide of the methods and career paths of ethnographers.
ISBN: 9780813548036
Publication Date: 2010-07-26
Forces of Habit by David T. Courtwright What drives the drug trade, and how has it come to be what it is today? A global history of the acquisition of progressively more potent means of altering ordinary waking consciousness, this book is the first to provide the big picture of the discovery, interchange, and exploitation of the planet's psychoactive resources, from tea and kola to opiates and amphetamines.
ISBN: 9780674029903
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
In Search of Respect by Philippe Bourgois In Search of Respect, Philippe Bourgois's now-classic, ethnographic study of social marginalization in inner-city America, won critical acclaim after it was first published in 1995 and in 1997 was awarded the Margaret Mead Award. For the first time, an anthropologist had managed to gain the trust and long-term friendship of street-level drug dealers in one of the roughest ghetto neighborhoods in the United States - East Harlem. This edition adds a prologue describing the major dynamics in America that have altered life on the streets of East Harlem in the six years since the first edition. Bourgois, in a new epilogue, brings up to date the stories of the people - Primo, Caesar, Luis, Tony, Candy - who readers come to know in this remarkable window onto the world of the inner-city drug trade.
ISBN: 9780511808562
Publication Date: 2014-06-05
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor) Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
ISBN: 9780387299051
Publication Date: 2006-12-28
The World of Sugar by Ulbe Bosma "[A] tour de force of global history...Bosma has turned the humble sugar crystal into a mighty prism for understanding aspects of global history and the world in which we live."--Los Angeles Review of Books The definitive 2,500-year history of sugar and its human costs, from its little-known origins as a luxury good in Asia to worldwide environmental devastation and the obesity pandemic. For most of history, humans did without refined sugar. After all, it serves no necessary purpose in our diets, and extracting it from plants takes hard work and ingenuity. Granulated sugar was first produced in India around the sixth century BC, yet for almost 2,500 years afterward sugar remained marginal in the diets of most people. Then, suddenly, it was everywhere. How did sugar find its way into almost all the food we eat, fostering illness and ecological crisis along the way? The World of Sugar begins with the earliest evidence of sugar production. Through the Middle Ages, traders brought small quantities of the precious white crystals to rajahs, emperors, and caliphs. But after sugar crossed the Mediterranean to Europe, where cane could not be cultivated, demand spawned a brutal quest for supply. European cravings were satisfied by enslaved labor; two-thirds of the 12.5 million Africans taken across the Atlantic were destined for sugar plantations. By the twentieth century, sugar was a major source of calories in diets across Europe and North America. Sugar transformed life on every continent, creating and destroying whole cultures through industrialization, labor migration, and changes in diet. Sugar made fortunes, corrupted governments, and shaped the policies of technocrats. And it provoked freedom cries that rang with world-changing consequences. In Ulbe Bosma's definitive telling, to understand sugar's past is to glimpse the origins of our own world of corn syrup and ethanol and begin to see the threat that a not-so-simple commodity poses to our bodies, our environment, and our communities.
ISBN: 9780674293311
Publication Date: 2023-05-09
Holy Intoxication to Drunken Dissipation by Barbara Y. Butler On the eve of the Spanish conquest of the Inca Empire, peoples throughout the Andes brewed beer from corn and other grains, believing that this alcoholic beverage, called asua, was a gift from the gods, a drink possessing the power to mediate between the human and divine. Consuming asua to intoxication was a sacred tradition that humans and spirits shared, creating reciprocal joy and ties of mutual obligation. When Butler began research in Huaycopungo, Ecuador, in 1977, ceremonial drinking was causing hardship for these Quichua-speaking people. Then, in 1987, a devastating earthquake was interpreted as a message from God to end the ritual obligation to get drunk. Holy Intoxication to Drunken Dissipation examines how the defense of drinking and getting drunk ended abruptly as the people of Otavalo re-evaluated their traditional religious life and their relationship with the wider Ecuadorian society, and defended a renewed traditional indigenous culture with increasing pride. This account presents both the local people's views of their struggles and a more general analysis of the factors involved, and concludes with thoughts about how their culture will adapt in the future.
ISBN: 0826338143
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Milk, Honey, and Money by Christopher C. Taylor "In Milk, Honey, and Money, Christopher C. Taylor reveals how the image of the person is being re-created in Rwandan therapeutic practice. Placing the social construction of the sick body into its changing wider context, Taylor exposes the correlations between local healing and global political economy." "In precolonial Rwandan culture, the body and the organization of the universe were thought of in terms of the flow and blockage of fluids. Operating in a "gift economy," the king and ritual specialists regulated these fluids--milk, honey, rain, blood--thereby ensuring the health of the people and the fertility of their land and cattle. Today, much of same imagery suffuses popular healing, and many sicknesses are depicted as perturbations in the flow of bodily humors. However, not all healers adhere to the precolonial symbolic forms." "Identifying a primary image schema in Rwandan popular concepts of the body and cosmology, Milk, Honey, and Money explains how specifically Rwandan forms have been affected by the culture's capitalist transformation."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 1560981040
Publication Date: 1992-06-17