ANTH 204: From Ayahuasca to Zoloft: anthropological approaches to drugs and drug use: Home

Welcome to the ANTH 204 Library Guide

This guide is designed to help you get started with research for ANTH 204: From Ayahuasca to Zoloft: Anthropological Approaches to Drugs and Drug Use. On this page, you’ll find a curated selection of resources to support your research on the cultural, social, political, medical, and biological dimensions of drugs.

In addition to recommended readings and databases, you’ll also find handy tips and tricks for doing library research, including:

• How to choose effective keywords for your searches
• How to evaluate the credibility of sources
• How to navigate the research process from topic selection to citation

You can search the library’s catalog through our website here: https://catalog.lib.unc.edu/

You can find links to individual databases that may be helpful on the E-Research by Discipline page of our website

Searching for Sources Effectively

• Follow the Bibliographic Trail: One proven method for gathering reliable information efficiently is to follow the citations or references from one source to another. The author's bibliography can lead you to other sources on the topic
• Subject Headings: If you find an interesting title in the library catalog or article database, open the record and scroll down to alternate Subject Headings. Click on the link and it will take you to addional materials with the same subject/topic.
• Identify keywords: Before searching the Library Catalog or other databases, take a few minutes to write down all the words that describe your topic. Use these words and synonyms in keyword searches. 

Scholarly resources have the following features:

1. They are written by experts - look for an author's credentials or affiliations.

2. They are written for other experts or people in academia. Think of each scholarly work as a voice in an ongoing conversation to which you will add your voice when you write a paper. 

3. They use scholarly language with technical, discipline specific vocabulary.

4. They provide verifiable and reliable evidence for claims. Even if the resource is a general history/overview it will contain well researched information that the reader can verify.

5. They may be peer reviewed. Many journals go through an editorial process where other experts review and assess the information. 

Some databases will let you check a box to limit to peer reviewed articles. You can also look at the journal's website which will explain the editorial process including whether or not the journal is peer reviewed. 

What to look for:

• Bibliographic information (author, title, publisher, date, volume and issue number)
• Author credentials and affiliations (what and where of expertise) 
• An abstract stating a summary of the article
• Science and social science articles will most likely have an introduction, methodology (how research was conducted), results, discussion, and conclusion
• Notes, references, or works cited; This information is provided so readers know where the information was obtained, can verify sources, and/or use information for their own research. 

Example of a scholarly article: 

https://writingcenter.unc.edu/

Here is a reminder of different types of journals.