Skip to Main Content

Covidence: Adding Full Text

Created by Health Science Librarians

How to Retrieve Full Text Articles in Citation Managers

When you review at the Full Text level, you will need to get the full articles for every reference. 

In Endnote: Select the articles you want to find.  Under References, select Find Full Text to find as many PDFs as you can.  This feature works best on campus.  Then, for articles Endnote does not automatically find, you can type the title of other articles into a database like Pubmed or CINAHL and use the Find@UNC button to get the full article.

In Sciwheel: If you have set UNC as your institution, you can click the Institutional Access button for each article to connect to the full text.  To set UNC as your institution, paste https://login.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=$@ into your account's Proxy Settings.

In Zotero: In the Advanced settings of your Preferences menu, add University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as your OpenURL using the resolver https://vb3lk7eb4t.search.serialssolutions.com/ . Select the articles you want to find PDFs for.  Right click and select Find Available PDFs

In Mendeley: In the citation details, scroll down to the URL area.  If you see a link that begins with vb3lk7eb4t or libproxy.lib.unc.edu, you can connect to the article on or off campus.  If you do not see this link, or if the available URLs do not connect you to the article, you can type the title of other articles into a database like Pubmed or CINAHL and use the Find@UNC button to get the full article.

Once you have run the citation manager, you may wish to use a browser plugin such as the Google Scholar Button, Unpaywall, or LazyScholar to identify additional PDFs that are free online.

Any articles you cannot find through UNC subscriptions or for free online should be requested through Interlibrary Loan using the instructions in the Requesting an Article box below.

Requesting an Article Through Interlibrary Loan

If you use Find@UNC and get directed to a page that says the item is not available, scroll down on the page to Step 2- Request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan.

item not available

request item

You can log in with your Onyen and password to request the article.  The first time, you'll need to register, but click the link again after registering and it will take you to the request form.  Requests are free for UNC Chapel Hill affiliates.

Once you submit a request, in about 2-3 business days with an email saying the article is ready to download.  Follow the link in the email, log in with your Onyen and password, and go to the Electronically Received Articles tab to download your article.  You must download the article within 30 days.

Linking Full Text to References

Citations must be in the Full Text level in Covidence for you to add PDFs to them. You can bulk upload PDFs using Endnote or Mendeley.  To manually attach full-text PDFs for your full-text screening stage, follow the steps below:
 
1. Locate and save the PDFs for your articles.  (Shortcut: You can type the article title into Google Scholar on the HSL website to get the Find@UNC link or a free PDF elsewhere online)
2. Go into the Full Text Screening stage of your Covidence Review.  Select Add full text for the article.
 

Covidence Add Full Text button

3. Locate the PDF on your computer and save.

4. A View full text button will now appear instead of the Add full text button.

View Full Text in Covidence

Endnote Full Text Bulk Upload

To upload and attach full-text PDFs from Endnote for your Covidence full-text screening stage, follow the steps below:
 
From your review's homepage in Covidence, click on Full Text Review to go to the Export studies tool.

Bulk upload missing full texts button

  1. Export your Full text reference list from Covidence to EndNote using the Download Studies button.

Download studies button in bulk upload menu

         2. Download the file from the Recent exports section below your export menu.

Download the file from the Recent Exports section

         3. Import the file into Endnote.

         4. Find the PDFs and attach them to the corresponding reference in your citation manager.  This can be done manually or by using the   automated find full text feature in Endnote.

  •    Select the articles from your Full Text file in Endnote.  Under the Reference Menu, select Find Full Text.

References menu

         5. Once you have attached the articles to the citations in your citation manager, select all the articles with PDFs and export the list of references EndNote XML format

Endnote export option under File menu

Save your article list as an XML file

          6. In the Covidence Bulk Upload menu, attach your Endnote XML file with the list of citations with PDFs using the Choose XML File button.  Wait patiently for Covidence to load the list.

​​In Covidence, attach your XML file with the list of citations with PDFs using the Choose XML File button

          7. Once Covidence has processed the list of articles, it will create a box describing the upload and how many full text articles were found.  Next, drag and drop a folder of PDFs associated with your references from your computer or click the Choose Folder button.  The folder could be your Endnote library's .Data folder or a folder you create.  This will be easiest if you have stored all of your associated PDFs in one location. 

Drag and drop a folder of PDFs into Covidence

          8. When the PDFs have finished uploading, you will see the number of PDFs added and the number of PDFs that need to be added, or both.

Successful PDF upload message

 

  • If you've used an automated find-PDF feature, PDFs will be automatically filed by the reference manager in the Data file for your EndNote library in a folder labeled PDF.
    • EndNote automatically stores PDFs in individual folders. To avoid having to individually open each of these folders, search for the extension .pdf while in your library's PDF folder.  You can also use a folder merger program.
  • If you've stored your PDFs yourself, make sure that they have the same title as the one assigned by EndNote, or make sure that EndNote is set to change the PDF name.

The PDFs will now be uploaded and automatically attached to the appropriate reference.

Zotero Full Text Bulk Upload

To upload and attach full-text PDFs from Zotero for your Covidence full-text screening stage, follow the steps below:
 
From your review's homepage in Covidence, click on Full Text Review to go to the Export studies tool.

Bulk upload missing full texts button

  1. Export your Full text reference list from Covidence to Zotero using the Download Studies button.

Download studies button in bulk upload menu

         2. Download the file from the Recent exports section below your export menu.

Download the file from the Recent Exports section

         3. Import the file into Zotero.

         4. Find the PDFs and attach them to the corresponding reference in your citation manager.  This can be done manually or by using the automated Find Available PDFs feature in Zotero.

  • Set University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as your OpenURL in your Zotero preferences with the Resolver https://vb3lk7eb4t.search.serialssolutions.com/ .  
  • Select the articles from your Full Text file in Zotero.  Right click, then select Find Available PDFs.

In Zotero, right click on a selection of articles and click Find Available PDFs

         5. Once you have attached the articles to the citations in your citation manager, select all the articles with PDFs and export the list of references EndNote XML format.  Zotero will prompt you to create a folder.  When the folder is ready, it will contain an Endnote XML file and a folder called PDFs.

Right click on the selection of articles and select Export Items, then choose Endnote XML

Select the format Endnote XML and check the boxes for Export Notes and Export Files

          6. In the Covidence Bulk Upload menu, attach your Endnote XML file with the list of citations with PDFs using the Choose XML File button.  Wait patiently for Covidence to load the list.

​​In Covidence, attach your XML file with the list of citations with PDFs using the Choose XML File button

          7. Once Covidence has processed the list of articles, it will create a box describing the upload and how many full text articles were found.  Next, drag and drop the folder of PDFs associated with your references from your computer or click the Choose Folder button. 

Drag and drop a folder of PDFs into Covidence

          8. When the PDFs have finished uploading, you will see the number of PDFs added and the number of PDFs that need to be added, or both.

Successful PDF upload message
 

The PDFs will now be uploaded and automatically attached to the appropriate reference.