Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

EDUC 830: Field Techniques: Media Resources

Media & Design Projects

The Media & Design Center provides guidance on all things audio and visual. See the links below for more information.

Recording Interviews

The Media & Design Center is located on the main floor of the Undergraduate Library. It has two reservable podcast studios and recording equipment that can be checked out.

View the MDC's research guide on Recording an Interview for more guidance on software and equipment.

Podcast Studio Spaces

These spaces can be reserved two weeks in advance and for up to two hours per day. They come equipped with headphones, microphones, and the RØDECaster Pro podcast mixer. Bring your computer and your preferred recording software.

Media Equipment

This equipment can be reserved two weeks in advance and can be checked out for up to 7 days. Equipment includes several Zoom H1 Field Recorders and Zoom H4n Pro Field Recorders.

Transcription

UNC's ITS Digital Accessibility Office recommends the following software for transcription:

Additionally, transcripts can be generated from audio files using Microsoft Word's Dictate feature. If you are recording your interview in Zoom, you can opt to generate captions during the recording to produce a transcript.

Refer to the ITS DAO website for more information and tips on using captioning/transcription software.

Streaming Media for Observational Fieldwork

Films on Demand Video Collection
Watch thousands of full length documentaries from Films Media Group's Master Academic Collection online. Subject areas include: Humanities & Social Sciences, Science, Business & Economics, and Health. The collections are dynamic.

Note: Connect through NCLive.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Ethnographic Video Online
Watch full length documentary and educational ethnographic films online. The database is designed to use the films specifically for teaching and research and includes Study Guides, filmmaker biographies, interviews, release notes, etc. alongside many of the titles. Geographic and cultural group browses allow users to highlight sections of a map to find result sets, and searchable transcripts scroll with the films.

Note: Click and play.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Projectr
Streaming film platform curated by Grasshopperfilms and includes fictional narrative, shorts, documentary and educational films on a wide array of humanities, arts, global cultures and social justice topics.

Note: Click and play; Onyen login and password required
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Languages: Multiple
Academic Video Online
Streaming service providing over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; primarily documentaries and educational film.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Media & Design Center

Homepage
Hours
FilmFinder
Streaming Media
Book Equipment
Book Podcast Space

Library MakerSpace

The Library MakerSpace is located on the main floor of the Undergraduate Library. It is completely free for all UNC affiliates to use. Some of the equipment you'll find there includes:

3-D printers
Sewing machine
Cricut machine
Soldering tools
Extra craft supplies (fabric, yarn, knitting/crochet tools, paint, etc.)