Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
European Studies: Databases and News Sources
Databases
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - Country Studies/Area Handbooks (Library of Congress)
Contains the online versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.
- 20th Century German History Online: National Socialism, Holocaust, Resistance and Exile 1933-1945
Collection of primary sources on the Third Reich, the National Socialist state, the NSDAP, Nazi ideology, and propaganda, both from the point of view of supporters and resisters. Materials include institutional records (courts, secret police, occupied territories administration), biographical and autobiographical sources, and propaganda.
- Archive of European Integration (AEI)
An electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. The goal of the AEI is to collect as many potential research materials, working papers, policy papers, conference papers, small monographs, pre-prints, etc on this topic as possible, both for current use and for permanent archiving. The database includes publications in any language, although titles must be in English.
- EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries.
- European Studies SectionThis guide is a list of scholarly resources in European Studies broadly but in some cases offers resources for regions or specific countries of Europe. Intended primarily for librarians; it may be useful to scholars in this field. It is curated and managed by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineOffers access to nearly 140 titles and over 320 volumes of the famed Cambridge History series. The texts provide up to date, scholarly, and authoritative content.
- European Sources OnlineEuropean Sources Online [ESO] is a free-access database and information service. It aims to support users in understanding Europe and beyond. It brings together a comprehensive and curated set of sources and information, which are able to inform people holding different levels of expertise.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineProvides access to all Oxford University Press handbooks in all subjects at the book and article level. You can also access all of these e-books individually through the online catalog.
- Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Collection of primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European people in the aftermath of World War II.
- ProQuest Political Science DatabasePolitical science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Europeana
- EuropeanaEuropeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research.
Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
News Sources
- EUobserverEUobserver is an independent online newspaper established in Brussels with the aim to support European democracy. Features in depth investigations containing news from different countries in Europe but also extends to the rest of the world. Focused reports on different issues – LGBTI rights, health, Nordic news, and EU presidency. News is presented as headlines, but also in separate categories and in browse-able format. Reports are also available in German and French.
- EuronewsEuronews, Europe’s number one news channel, empowers people to form their own opinion. Euronews is unapologetically impartial and seeks to offer a diversity of viewpoints.
- Project SyndicateCommentary and analysis on a variety of global topics from prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from more than 100 countries.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.
Background Sources
- Digital Encyclopedia of European HistoryThe EHNE digital encyclopedia offers an interdisciplinary approach to the European history of gender, wars, art, circulations and networks, as well as major ideologies and political debates. It is interested in Europe's cultural and religious foundations, and explores the relations between Europe and the rest of the world.
- Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism in EuropeThe Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism (ERNiE) contains c. 1700 analytical articles on themes and persons, as well as historical documentation (Letters, Writings, Images, Music etc.), tracing and visualizing the transnational rise of national culture-building in 19th-century Europe.
Dissertations & Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalDART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. In October 2010, this portal provided access to 177641 full-text research theses from 300 Universities sourced from 19 European countries.
News Literacy
- News LiteracyResources for learning more about identifying and combating "fake news."
Finding primary sources
- Finding Primary Source MaterialsThis is a selective guide to finding primary source materials for historical research. The University Libraries maintain rich collections of primary sources in print, microform, and electronic formats. Additionally, there are hundreds of collections of primary source materials freely available online. Because there is no single comprehensive database of primary sources, you may need to explore different strategies for locating resources of interest.
- Archives Portal EuropeThe Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.
- European History Primary SourcesThe purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe.
Dictionairies
Collins French Concise, 7th Edition by
A revised and updated seventh edition of the popular English-French dictionary, featuring more than 200,000 entries and translations as well as a comprehensive grammar section packed with helpful examples--the ultimate language reference for students, travelers, and business professionals. Up to the minute, the Collins French Concise Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of today's language in a practical, user-friendly format. Inside you'll find more than 95,000 references and upwards of 135,000 translations, including the latest business, media, and French cultural terms, and the most complete guide to grammar available in a French dictionary. Comprehensive yet clear, modern, and easy to navigate, Collins French Concise Dictionary, 7th Edition contains all the information you'll need to write a paper, read a book, or tell a story.
ISBN: 9780062844903Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Collins-Robert French Dictionary by
The world's leading French-English dictionary, revised and updated to cover all the latest vocabulary. Ideal for advanced learners of French. This sixth edition of the market-leading French dictionary draws once again on Collins' and Le Robert's unique multi-million word databases of contemporary English and French to ensure the user has the most complete and accurate picture of real language available today. This new edition is fully revised to include all the latest vocabulary from a wide range of fields. Further help for the user is provided by new lexical and grammatical notes tackling classic translation problems. To make the text easier to navigate, long and complex entries benefit from a clearly structured layout and all the key phrases, idioms and set grammatical patterns are highlighted to speed up consultation. The sixth edition of the Collins Robert French Dictionary: complete and unabridged, reaffirms it as the most comprehensive, reliable, modern and accessible dictionary on the market today, and the world's best French dictionary.
ISBN: 000718381XPublication Date: 2005-01-01
Collins German Unabridged Dictionary, 8th Edition by
The richest resource for German study Comprehensive and authoritative, including the latest words and phrases from contemporary German and English Key phrases, idioms, and set grammatical structures are highlighted to help you understand more complex entries Culture boxes explain the origins of phrases from literature, film, and popular culture to aid translation and to improve your understanding Recommended by university tutors for German degree reading lists Acclaimed Language in Use supplement contains hundreds of examples in real-life contexts such as essay writing, e-mail messages, and telephone conversations to help you use German fluently and naturally The new Business & Finance supplement contains all the phrases you need to communicate in common business situations, covering everything from banking and finance to insurance and accounting Clear layout with headwords helps you find the words you need quickly and easily 350,000 references special entries on life and culture in German-speaking countries 500,000 translations explanations of complex words in both languages specialist vocabulary ideal for advanced learners and professionals using German
ISBN: 9780062288820Publication Date: 2013-07-02
Collins German-English by
This popularly priced addition to HarperCollins series of bilingual dictionaries offers users contemporary, practical coverage and exceptionally clear translations of the German language. More than 149,000 entries and 200,000 translations give comprehensive treatment of current German and English--including business, political and technical terms.
ISBN: 0062755153Publication Date: 1995-01-01
