The Davis Library Research Hub is one of three Research Hub locations. It is located on the second floor of Davis Library, and caters to researchers interested in working with data, mapping, texts, visualization, and technology. Offerings include:
"This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present." Essays place the data into historical context, and the data can be downloaded in Excel or CVS. (Source: Vendor website)
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Pre-Colonial America to the present
Provides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password. Coverage: 2013 - Present
The Odum Institute at UNC maintains one of the oldest and largest catalog of machine-readable data in the U.S. It has an extensive collection of U.S. Census data; other major sources of data include the North Carolina State Data Center.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contains more than 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.
Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies
Contains over 36,000 maps and images, with a focus on rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America. Also includes maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa. You can explore the collection several ways, including using an application such as Google Earth or a GIS Browser.
A portal that allows users to search across several different online collections of historic maps, mostly from Europe and North America. The collections include maps from as early as the fifteenth century through the present day.
Provides images of hundreds of maps in the public domain of the worlds nations, major cities, state outlines, national park maps as well as thematic maps for high-interest topics. Both current and historical maps going back to the Renaissance are available. The site also provides links to other websites offering maps.