Finding Primary Source Materials: Newspapers & Periodicals

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 to the 1920s, provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues from about 2000 newspapers from Colonial America to the Roaring Twenties. The papers were published in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Allows you to cross-search a variety of newspaper and periodical databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, British Newspapers, 1780 1950, Times (London) Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, and Economist Historical Archive.

Online database of digitized historical newspapers covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Focus is on Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and South Asia. Covers 19th and 20th centuries, and includes some of these regions’ largest and most important newspapers.

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.

Full text databases featuring important American newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Includes the following collections:
African American Newspapers: The Nineteenth Century; Civil War Newspapers; and The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800

From the Library of Congress, this site includes two sections:
Digitized Newspapers, 1836-1922, and The U.S. Newspaper Directory which contains information on American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage from 1960-present.

Provides access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present. UNC users have access to a large selection of North Carolina newspapers through a partnership between Newspapers.com and the UNC University Library.

Note: Please clear your browser's cache and cookies if you are having problems accessing this resource

Offers indexing of over 500 popular periodicals and magazines for a period of over 100 years. From the presidency of Benjamin Harrison to the election of Ronald Reagan, from the Spanish-American War to the Cold War, from the "robber barons" to the oil embargoes, the Readers' Guide provides access to articles chronicling the daily lives and the momentous events of America in the 20th century.

Provides keyword indexing to the articles of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences in dozen of languages from their first issues to 1995.

Contains over 1,000 journals published between 1740 and 1900.  American Periodicals From the Center for Research Libraries provides full text to nearly 400 journals.  The collection contains special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals,. See "About" within the database for a fuller description.

British Periodicals I and II includes the searchable full text and facsimile page images of 500 periodicals published between 1681 and 1921, a significant time not only for British history, but, given the growth and dominance of the British Empire for most of that period, world history. British Periodicals III extends the scope of British Periodicals by focusing on the first half of the twentieth century. All of this content is available in full page images with searchable full text.

An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Romantic & Victorian age.  Series I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport. Series II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial.

Provides access to millions of articles in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000, many of which are not in English.

A full-text database of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important serials of nineteenth-century America. Coverage from 1857-1877.

A collaborative effort by the libraries of Cornell University and the University of Michigan to present digital copies of primary source materials published in the United States from before the American Civil War to the 1920s. Journals and other periodicals are the principal publications available, as well as some book titles. The fields of education, American history, religion, sociology, psychology, religion, and science and technology are especially well represented.

Provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues in two collections: Early American Newspapers Series I and Series II, 1690-1920 and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.

Provides access to significant U.S. and UK newspapers from the 1600s to the 2000s, including The Times (London), the Sunday Times, the Financial Times, The Times Literary Supplement, and The Economist.

Provides access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present. UNC users have access to a large selection of North Carolina newspapers through a partnership between Newspapers.com and the UNC University Library.

Note: Please clear your browser's cache and cookies if you are having problems accessing this resource

Contains over 20 historic newspapers, including The New York Times and the Washington Post, from major U. S. cities. Also icludes six major African American papers. Coverage is generally from the late 1800s to around 2000.

A large and growing collection of digitized newspapers from around the world from the 19th and 20th centuries.

America's Newspapers is the most comprehensive U.S. newspaper resource available

Backfiles are shallow, usually only back to 1980 at best.

Offers indexing of over 500 popular periodicals and magazines for a period of over 100 years. From the presidency of Benjamin Harrison to the election of Ronald Reagan, from the Spanish-American War to the Cold War, from the "robber barons" to the oil embargoes, the Readers' Guide provides access to articles chronicling the daily lives and the momentous events of America in the 20th century.