Japan Studies: Language Learning
UNC subscribed materials
- JapanKnowledgeContains a number of reference sources in Japan including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, Progressive Japanese-English/English-Japanese Dictionaries, Gendai Yogo No Kiso Chishiki, Nihon Jinmei Daijiten, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, and other full-text and partial full-text resources. Language is primarily Japanese. Some English.
- Japan Times ArchivesThe Japan Times Digital Archive provides access to 117 volume years of English-language Japan Times from 1897 through 2015. It offers full-text searching for more than 490,000 pages of text, with full page image display including photos, illustrations, and advertisements.
- Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive 羅府新報Rafu Shimpo (羅府新報, Japanese Daily News) is the longest-running Japanese-American newspaper in the United States founded in 1903. The resource contains all obtainable issues from 1914 to the present. Every issue with full high-quality page images (including photos, graphics, and advertisements). New contents added annually.
Online Japanese Lessons
The online programs are available for different levels of Japanese learners, and offer activities designed to enhance knowledge of the Japanese language and Japanese culture. Some programs require registration at the beginning and some after a particular program level is reached.
Here is a list of some programs which you do not need to register, or at least to start with.
- NHK Easy Japanese やさしい 日本語"Easy Japanese" is a program of Japanese language lessons produced by Japan's public broadcaster, NHK WORLD RADIO JAPAN.
- Erin's Challenge! I can speak Japanese.This website has been complied based on the DVD teaching material "Erin's Challenge! I can speak Japanese". for Japanese learners to study using the internet, produced and operated by the Japan Foundation Japanese-Language Institute.
- Anime, Manga no nihongoThis is an e-learning site that offers a fun way to learn a number of character/genre-based Japanese expressions that appear in anime and manga.
- Learn JapaneseTae Kim's Guide to Learning Japanese
- Japanese Free LessonsOn this site you will find such things as the Japanese alphabet (including Hiragana and Katakana) as well as Kanji (Chinese characters), vocabulary, grammar, sentence structure, and common words and phrases.
- Japanese Language on about.comVarious sources listed on the Japanese Language page
- Kanji aliveA free study tool for reading and writing kanji, originally created at the University of Chicago in 2001-2005
- Stroke order in Japanese「筆順」This homepage introduces how to write Japanese Kanji, Hiragana and Katakana by using animation.
- The Best Way to Learn JapaneseThis website contains some useful tips and suggestions for every Japanese learners.
- Transparent Language OnlineProvides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience.
Note: Users must create an individual account.
Japanese Language Exams
The Japanese-Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) under joint organization of the Japan Foundation and Japan Educational Exchanges and Services (previously Association of International Education, Japan) started in 1984 as a test to measure and certify the Japanese-language proficiency of those whose native language is not Japanese.
The Examination for Japanese University Admission for International Students (EJU) is used to evaluate whether international students who wish to study at the undergraduate level at universities or other such higher educational institutions in Japan possess the Japanese language skills and the basic academic abilities needed to study at those institutions
Resources for Japanese Language Study
Book shops
- Kinokuniya Book Stores of America「紀伊國屋書店」Japanese items ordered through Kinokuniya online store is sent to you directly by air from Kinokuniya Fulfillment Center in Japan.
Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedia and assisting tools
- Nihongo e naNihongo e na is a portal for Learning Japanese, trying loads of websites, online tools and ideas. They suggest you the ones they think "Kore e (ī) na!" (This is great!).
- Growing Careers in Translation ServicesThis website contains some useful links for translators.
Click here to find Japanese language dictionaries that are available at UNC Libraries
Radio in Japanese
Learning Japanese Directs
- Kansai Direct 関西弁Self study guide for Japanese Language learners made by Japanese Language teachers
