MUSC051/PHYS051 The Interplay of Music and Physics: Resources for Your Argument Paper and Free Topic Paper
Finding E-Resources through the Library Catalog [onyen required for off-campus access]
In the library catalog, enter terms in an ALL FIELDS search you are interested in exploring. Limit the search results to "Available Online" if desired.
Here are links to some broad categories of-books and e-books in the library catalog. These are only a few examples of useful topics to search in the catalog:
Music acoustics and physics Musical temperament
Music theory and mathematics Performance practice (music)
Musical instruments (books about) Psychoacoustics
Musical instruments (construction) Tuning
- For physical books, you can either go the the library where it is located to check it out or select the Request button in the book's record to have it delivered to a campus library for pick up.
Scholarly Journal Articles [onyen required for off-campus access]
The best scholarly e-journals in which to find articles on acoustics are:
Acoustics Research Letters Online: ARLO
Journal of Sound and Vibration (online)
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (online)
Search here to find more full-text journal articles as well as books in the library catalog.
- Go through the library interface to find scholarly journals or Google Scholar (see below). If you just search the web, you often won't find access to the full article without having to pay for it.
- Narrow your search to Full-Text Online and Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed for better results.
- See the bibliography at the end of an article you are interested in to find more resources on the same topic.
- Google Scholar
Use this library link to get the fullest access to journal articles. If you just "google" Google Scholar, you will hit a paywall to access some articles.
Finding Recordings [onyen required for off-campus access]
Brandenburg Concerto No.3 in G Maj BWV 1048
Listen to streaming music from Alexander Street: Classical Music Online or Naxos Music Library. Go to Medici.tv to watch concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes. You will need your onyen to access these resources from off campus.
The UNC Music Library owns thousands of physical sound recordings as well. You can check them out at the Music Library or request them through the library catalog and pick them up at another campus library. If you need a media drive to play the discs, you can borrow one of those for in-library use.
Search the catalog in ALL FIELDS and then refine your results by selecting from the facets on the left of the results page.
Oxford Music Online/Grove Music Online [onyen required for off-campus access]
-
Oxford Music Online contains Grove Music Online, the most important scholarly encyclopedia of music (broad coverage). Off-campus access requires an onyen login.Search this resource for topics, terminology, names, and places related to music and musical instruments.Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music are also included in this resource and provide briefer entries on most topicsUse the Cite button in the upper right of the article to format your citation.
Liner Notes as a Source of Information [onyen required for off-campus access]
Many CDs and LPs have liner notes containing useful information about the works and performers on the recording. Either search the library catalog and request a sound recording search our streaming audio databases (onyen login required from off campus)
In the library catalog, the presence of liner notes will be indicated in the item's record.
In Alexander Street Classical Music Online, look under the "Related Documents" tab for liner notes.
In Naxos Music Library, look for the "Booklet" icon for liner notes.
