AAAD 315: Political Protest and Conflict in Africa: News

UNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.

Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.

To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account.

Access articles for the The Washington Post in 15 years of rolling archival content to the present. Available to all UNC students, faculty, and staff.

Note: For remote access, create an individual account here, using your UNC email.

AllAfrica archive is a unique collection containing over 5 million articles from hundreds of African news organizations and from AllAfrica's award-winning reporting team, as well as documents and releases from a range of NGOs, governments and international institutions. The archive covers from 1996.

Contains the full text of newspapers published in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.

Includes 64 19th century African newspapers, collected by the British Library, covering the entire continent and including Ghana, Nigeria, Malawi, Morocco, Saint Helena, Sierra Leone, and South Africa.

“Provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides researchers with a searchable collection of scores of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa. The early stages of imperial expansion and indigenous resistance in the interior of western and southern Africa, the European scramble for the continent in the late nineteenth century and the expansion of settler colonialism in southern and eastern Africa are all covered.”

The Liberian Observer newspaper has chronicled all facets of life, culture, and political development in Liberia. Access is from 1981-2014 and documents a dynamic phase in the modern history of Liberia, from the late twentieth century, through a civil war, and through its current phase of development

A resource for scholars of African studies, history, politics, and media. It also represents a historical preservation project and may be of interest to institutions that study war, genocide, the Holocaust, and apartheid.

Commentary and analysis on a variety of global topics from prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from more than 100 countries.