Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ROML 089: French Coastal Ecologies: Discover research materials
Great starting points for research
A few key databases focused on Environmental Studies and Literature may be helpful starting points -- but there are also many more resources that can be found on the E-Research by Discipline tab or by exploring other Research Guides on the library website. For individual journals, browse our Online Journals Page.
Background resources
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations. -
CQ ResearcherThe CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
-
Issues and Controversies on FileContains full text articles on current topics of interest, arranged in opposing points of view. It is intended to give users a quick grasp of the essentials of more than 250 controversial news topics. It also contains chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
-
Points of View Reference SourceProvides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
Project MuseProvides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Subject Databases
-
Environment CompleteJournals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
-
Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
-
Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
-
ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
Selected online resources
-
Climate Policy Info HubThe Climate Policy Info Hub offers evidence on climate policy options. It explores impacts and implications of international and EU climate policy for decision-makers in policy, business and civil society.
-
PoliticoPolitico is a global nonpartisan politics and policy news organization.
-
Global Atlas of Environmental JusticeFrom the EEB, the largest network of environmental citizens’ organisations in Europe. The environmental justice atlas documents and catalogues social conflict around environmental issues.
-
EC Library Guide on country knowledge: France. A selection of information resources relevant to the work of the European CommissionThe European Union Country Profiles website gives Information on EU countries, government and society, countries using the euro, members of border-free travel area.
News Sources
-
EuronewsEuronews, Europe’s number one news channel, empowers people to form their own opinion. Euronews is unapologetically impartial and seeks to offer a diversity of viewpoints.
-
EUobserverEUobserver is an independent online newspaper established in Brussels with the aim to support European democracy. Features in depth investigations containing news from different countries in Europe but also extends to the rest of the world. Focused reports on different issues – LGBTI rights, health, Nordic news, and EU presidency. News is presented as headlines, but also in separate categories and in browse-able format. Reports are also available in German and French.
-
New York Times Academic PassUNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.
Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.
To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account. -
Project SyndicateCommentary and analysis on a variety of global topics from prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from more than 100 countries.
-
Washington Post (Online)Access articles for the The Washington Post in 15 years of rolling archival content to the present. Available to all UNC students, faculty, and staff.
Note: For remote access, create an individual account here, using your UNC email.
Useful titles
-
ISBN: 9781527519619 -
The Belly of the Atlantic
by
"This charming, vivid and poetic book captures the poignancy of immigrant life and all the unresolved pain of Africa's relationship with its former colonial powers."--Michela Wrong Salie lives in Paris. Back home on the Senegalese island of Niodior, her football-crazy brother Madické counts on her to get him to France, the promised land where foreign footballers become world famous. The story of Salie and Madické highlights the painful situation of those who emigrate. It is a moving account of one of the great tragedies of our time.
ISBN: 9781852429034Publication Date: 2008-09-01 -
Encyclopedia of the World's Coastal Landforms
by
This unique richly-illustrated account of the landforms and geology of the world's coasts, presented in a country-by-country (state-by-state) sequence, assembles a vast amount of data and images of an endangered and increasingly populated and developed landform. An international panel of 138 coastal experts provides information on "what is where" on each sector of coast, together with explanations of the landforms, their evolution and the changes taking place on them. As well as providing details on the coastal features of each country (state or county) the compendium can be used to determine the extent of particular features along the world's coasts and to investigate comparisons and contrasts between various world regions. With more than 1440 color illustrations and photos, it is particularly useful as a source of information prior to researching or just visiting a sector of coast. References are provided to the current literature on coastal evolution and coastline changes.
ISBN: 9781402086380Publication Date: 2010-02-25 -
The Encyclopedia of Tourism and Recreation in Marine Environments
by
Marine tourism has become one of the fastest growing areas within the tourism industry. With the increased use of marine environments comes the need for informed planning and sustainable management as well as for the education and training of planners, managers and operators. Combining the disciplines of marine scientists and tourism researchers, this encyclopedia will bring together the terms, concepts and theories related to recreational and tourism activities in marine settings. Entries range from short definitions to medium and long articles.
ISBN: 9781845933500Publication Date: 2008-05-14 -
The Jungle
by
For nearly two decades, the area surrounding the French port of Calais has been a temporary staging post for thousands of migrants and refugees hoping to cross the Channel to Britain. It achieved global attention when, at the height of the migrant crisis in 2015, all those living there were transferred to a single camp that became known as 'the Jungle'. Until its dismantling in October 2016, this precarious site, intended to make its inhabitants as invisible as possible, was instead the focal point of international concern about the plight of migrants and refugees. This new book is the first full account of life inside the Jungle and its relation to the global migration crisis. Anthropologist Michel Agier and his colleagues use the particular circumstances of the Jungle, localized in space and time, to analyse broader changes under way in our societies, both locally and globally. They examine the architecture of the camp, reconstruct how everyday life and routine operated and analyse the mixed reactions to the Jungle, from hostile government policies to movements of solidarity. This comprehensive account of the life and death of Europe's most infamous camp for migrants and refugees demonstrates that, far from being an isolated case, the Jungle of Calais brings into sharp relief the issues that confront us all today, in a world where the large-scale movement of people has become, and is likely to remain, a central feature of social and political life.
ISBN: 9781509530625Publication Date: 2018-12-20 -
The Many Voices of Europe
by
This volume explores the rich, evolving body of contemporary cultural practices that reflect on a European project of diversity, new dynamics between and across cultures in Europe, and its interactions with the world. There have been calls across Europe for both traditional national identities and new forms of identity and community, assertions of regionalized identity and declarations of multiculturalism and multilingualism. These essays respond to this critical moment by analyzing the literature of migration as a (re)writing of European subjects. They ask fundamental questions from a variety of theoretical and critical standpoints: How do migrants write new identities into and against old national (meta)narratives? How do they interrogate constructions of identity? What kinds of literary experiments are emerging in this unstable context, e.g. in the graphic novel and avant-garde film? This collection makes a unique contribution to contemporary European literary studies by taking an interdisciplinary, transnational and comparative perspective, thereby addressing readers from diverse disciplinary backgrounds and stimulating new research on the ambitious writing and thinking taking place across the borders of Europe today.
ISBN: 9783110615265Publication Date: 2020-01-20 -
Pitfalls of Shoreline Stabilization
by
At the coast all is not what it seems. Decades of beachfront development have seen a variety of efforts to stabilize the shoreline to protect ill-placed beachfront property, both from shoreline erosion and from storm damage. Both of these problems become increasingly critical in a time of rising sea level. Many natural beaches are backed by sea walls, while others have been transformed by whole series of groynes, offshore breakwaters and a plethora of other schemes. Many recreational beaches are actually artificial replicas of the real thing, emplaced to protect badly placed infrastructure and maintained only through ongoing costly beach nourishment. However, all of these attempts to stabilize the shoreline are far from benign. Degradation and even complete loss of the all important recreational beach sometimes results from seawall emplacement. Increasingly, the choice of shoreline stabilization approach will depend upon plans for future response to rising seas which in many cases may involve retreat from the shoreline rather than holding the line. This book explores, through a series of case studies from around the globe, the pitfalls of shoreline stabilization and provides a ready reference for those with an interest in shoreline management. It is particularly timely in a time of global change.
ISBN: 9789400741225Publication Date: 2012-06-05 -
Salt Marshes
by
Salt marshes are highly dynamic and important ecosystems that dampen impacts of coastal storms and are an integral part of tidal wetland systems, which sequester half of all global marine carbon. They are now being threatened due to sea-level rise, decreased sediment influx, and human encroachment. This book provides a comprehensive review of the latest salt marsh science, investigating their functions and how they are responding to stresses through formation of salt pannes and pools, headward erosion of tidal creeks, marsh-edge erosion, ice-fracturing, and ice-rafted sedimentation. Written by experts in marsh ecology, coastal geomorphology, wetland biology, estuarine hydrodynamics, and coastal sedimentation, it provides a multidisciplinary summary of recent advancements in our knowledge of salt marshes. The future of wetlands and potential deterioration of salt marshes is also considered, providing a go-to reference for graduate students and researchers studying these coastal systems, as well as marsh managers and restoration scientists.
ISBN: 9781107186286Publication Date: 2021-04-22 -
A Shifting Shore
by
Garner traces the ways fisherfolk, bathers, investors, and engineers understood, claimed, and remade the shores of the Bassin d'Arcachon, a prime fishing and oyster-farming site in southwestern France, over the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
ISBN: 9781501727207Publication Date: 2018-07-05 -
Tourism vs Environment
by
P.P. Wong ABSTRACT Tourism is environmentally dependent. The unique character ofcoastal areas gives rise to a distinctive tourist development. Although accounts on the impacts ofcoastal tourism can be found in works relating to tourism in general, there are few works specifically on coastal tourism. This present volume focuses on the physical environment of coastal tourism, particularly the geomorphological aspects. The papers deal with basic aspects of the coastal environment for tourism, methodologies for assessing the coastal environment for tourism and empirical studies of various types of coastal environment with tourism development. The resultinggeneralisations are expected to be applied elsewhere. TOURISM AND ENVIRONMENT Environment has various meanings for tourism. In its broadest sense, the environment includes all natural and cultural elements as in OECD's (1981) definition to encompass the natural, built and cultural aspects. This holistic approach is encouraged in understanding the potential impacts arising from tourism. A narrower meaning of environment is the natural and built environment as used by Cohen (1978) and Inskeep (1991: 339). Environment can also be restricted to the natural or physical environment, in order to distinguish it from the economic and social aspects of tourism, as used by tourism researchers (e.g. Mathieson and Wall, 1982; Pearce, 1989). This approach is used predominantly in this volume. Various relationships between tourism and the physical aspects ofthe coast are discussed. There are basic relationships between environment and tourism. Tourism is environmentally dependent and the environment is vulnerable to the impact of tourism.
ISBN: 9789401049177Publication Date: 2012-10-03 -
Voices of the People in Nineteenth-Century France
by
This innovative study of the lives of ordinary people - peasants, fishermen, textile workers - in nineteenth-century France demonstrates how folklore collections can be used to shed new light on the socially marginalized. David Hopkin explores the ways in which people used traditional genres such as stories, songs and riddles to highlight problems in their daily lives and give vent to their desires without undermining the two key institutions of their social world - the family and the community. The book addresses recognized problems in social history such as the division of power within the peasant family, the maintenance of communal bonds in competitive environments, and marriage strategies in unequal societies, showing how social and cultural history can be reconnected through the study of individual voices recorded by folklorists. Above all, it reveals how oral culture provided mechanisms for the poor to assert some control over their own destinies.
ISBN: 9780521519366Publication Date: 2012-04-26 -
Landscapes and Landforms of France
by
The Landforms and Landscapes of France provides an informative and attractive overview of the most scenic landscapes of France. The geodiversity of France is emphasized, for example the glacial landscapes of the Mont-Blanc Massif, the volcanoes of the French Massif Central, the chalk cliffs and sand dunes of the Atlantic coast, the granitic landscapes of Corsica or the lagoons and coral reefs of French Polynesia. The objectives are to provide the reader with an enjoyable and informative description of the selected sites within their regional geographical and geological settings; to offer an up-to-date survey of the evolution of France's landscape; and to give additional information on the cultural value of the selected sites wherever appropriate (prehistoric paintings, legends related to sites, famous vineyards, etc.). The book is a richly illustrated reference work that makes accessible for the first time a wealth of information currently scattered among many national and regional journals. It will be of benefit to earth scientists, environmental scientists, tourism geographers and conservationists
ISBN: 9789400770218Publication Date: 2013-09-06
