Resources for Religious Studies: Search for Books & Articles

OCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.

Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.

In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses

Provides indexing and some full text access to dissertations completed here at Chapel Hill and submitted to the Dissertations Abstracts database. It provides citations for Chapel Hill dissertation from the 1920s and Masters theses from 1966 on.

A major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion. The ATLA Religion Database covers over 1,400 journals, including over 600 being currently indexed, and nearly 16,000 collections of essays.

Provides a wide range of articles from international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.

Index for classical literature, philology and archaeology. L'Annee Philologique indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles (including Festschriften), journal articles, articles in collections, dissertations, book reviews, and summaries.  Its coverage begins in the second millennium B.C.E. with pre-classical archaeology and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800 C.E.).

"The international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world". These materials, from about 3000 periodicals worldwide, include journal articles, books, reviews, papers, and multi-author works. The authors are Western scholars and Muslims writing in European languages.

The bibliography covers numerous disciplines such as bibliography, history of the Islamic book, education, religion and theology, philosophy, science and mathematics, architecture, music, theater and drama, geography and ecology, anthropology and sociology, archaeology, cookery, epigraphy, economics, history, political thought, politics and current affairs, and the languages and literatures of countries and regions worldwide.

Citations to articles published worldwide from 1971 for East, Southeast and South Asia. This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Since 1992, newly published individual monographs are no longer being added to the database, and users seeking monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (such as RLIN, OCLC's WorldCat, etc.).