Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
SOCI 290H: Global Migration: People, Power, & Place: Home
Scholarly Articles
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
EconLitAccess research articles, citations, and abstracts on economics, accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Major index to economic literature from the American Economic Association.
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
-
ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
-
Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
Books
Required texts
-
The Age of Migration
by
Call Number: Davis Library Reserves (Service Desk): JV6032 .C37 2020Publication Date: 2020 -
The Land of Open Graves (ebook)
by
Call Number: Davis Library Reserves (Service Desk): JV6475 .D4 2015 or ebookPublication Date: 2015
Fictional and/or historical texts
-
Exit West (e-book or print)
by
Call Number: ebook (1-user at a time) and print optionsPublication Date: 2017 -
-
Sea of Poppies
by
Call Number: Davis & Undergrad Libraries: PR9499.3.G536 S43 2009Publication Date: 2009 -
The Grapes of Wrath
by
Call Number: Davis & Undergrad Libraries: PS3537.T3234 G8Publication Date: 1939The original publication date is 1939, but it has many reprints. Look for a copy at Davis or Undergrad Library. The Wilson Library copies are in-library-use-only. -
The Other Americans
by
Call Number: Davis Library: PS3612 .A543 M66 2014ISBN: 9780307911667Publication Date: 2014 -
The Warmth of Other Suns
by
Call Number: Print at 4 libraries: E185.6 .W685 2010 and e-book (1-user at a time)Publication Date: 2010
example subject heading searches
- emigration and immigration
- immigration enforcement
- migration, internal (also has regional categories: ex: migration, internal -- Europe, Eastern)
- refugees -- southeast asia
- refugees -- syria
- women refugees
- (Political) Refugees -- [Country or region]
- Women refugees -- [Country or region]
- Refugee children -- [Country or region]
- Immigrants -- [Country or region]
- Women immigrants -- [Country or region]
- Immigrant children -- [Country or region]
- Exiles -- [Country or region]
- [Name of war] -- Refugees
- [Country of origin or destination] -- Emigration and immigration
- [Nationality] -- United States, e.g. Salvadorans -- United States
- Immigrants’ writings, [Language]
- Exiles’ writings, [Language]
Statistics & Research Reports
Statistics & Data
- UNHCR: The United Nations Refugee Agency statistics - Contains research, reports and statistics on the UN's work with refugees around the world.
- Refugee Processing Center - Contains refugee arrival data.
- Migration Policy Institute - U.S. Immigration trends
- Department of Homeland Security - Immigration Statistics
- United Nations - International Migration
- Statistics can also be found in scholarly articles, research reports, government agencies and organizations. Try a simple Google search of [origin or destination country] government agency|department
-
PolicyMapAccess social, economic, health and demographic data about U.S. communities and markets in this online mapping tool. View data on map, in table or chart format, and download those data that are openly available. Reports provide a summary snapshot of an area: Community Profile, Community Health Profile, Rental Housing Report, and Housing Mortgage Report.
Research Reports
-
Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
-
Human Rights Watch: Defending Human Rights WorldwideContains the publications of Human Rights Watch, an independent, nongovernmental organization dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
-
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)A source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, tables of contents of selected journals, and conference proceedings.
Newspaper articles
Evaluate news stories
- Finding News Stories guide
- Fact Check - Nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players.
- Snopes - Site that attempts to dispel urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
- Politifact - Fact check for U.S. politics
Find news stories
-
America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
-
New York Times Academic PassUNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.
Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.
To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account.
U.S. Policies and Policy Actors
-
National Conference of State LegislaturesFind state policies by issue area.
-
ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
-
Proquest Legislative Insight Digital ArchiveProvides legislative histories that include PDFs of all relevant publications generated in the course of U.S. congressional lawmaking, including the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, and CRS reports.
orcid.org/0000-0003-2533-582X