WGST 330: Women's Health Activism in Twentieth Century America: Home

An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.

Database of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.

Database covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.

Interdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.

Provides indexing and abstracts of the international journal literature in political science and related fields, including public administration and policy, law, and international relations.

Covers historical annual time series data on American economic, social, political, demographic, and institutional history. Essays place the data in historical context. Download data in Excel or CSV.

A landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus. Unlike their white counterparts, black leaders have had to wrestle with the issues of their race alongside the issues of leadership in their chosen professions. They have been forced to defend positions, justify actions, correct perceptions, protest injustice, celebrate cultural achievement, and confront the agenda of a white-dominated society.

Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

"A series of in-depth primary source collections to support research and learning on policy related to today’s most pressing issues. This collection connects policies implemented by the U.S. government with the data-driven results and trends of those policies and provides context with analytical reports and news articles."

Seen through women’s eyes, nineteenth century southern social history takes on new dimensions. Subjects that were of only passing interest when historians depended on documents created by men now move to center stage. Women’s letters dwell heavily on illness, pregnancy, and childbirth. From them we can learn what it is like to live in a society in which very few diseases are well understood, in which death is common in all age groups, and where infant mortality is an accepted fact of life. The years of the Civil War are particularly well documented since many women were convinced that they were living through momentous historical events of which they should make a record.

Full-text archive of scanned color cover-to-cover reproductions of Redbook, Better Homes & Gardens, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Chatelaine, Redbook, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, Town & Country, Women's Day and Women’s International Network News which serve as records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.

Database of women's activism in American public life from 1600-2000, including published histories, records of women's organizations, books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.

Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.