Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
WGST 790: Graduate Seminar in Women's & Gender Studies: Research Process
Digging into your topic
-
What Makes a Good Research Question? - Handout from Duke University's (yes, Duke) Thompson Writing Program Writing Studio. Has good guidelines and examples of research questions.
-
Concept Mapping - Brainstorming technique that helps you visualize your topic, narrow it down, and think about the relationships between your concepts. Tutorial from Appalachian State University Library.
- Three questions about your topic - Write down three questions you have about your topic. You may ask yourself: Who are you centering? Whose voices are you including? Where can you find this information?
- Narrow down your topic - What time period? What location? What population of people?
Feminist Research
-
Sage Research MethodsLibrary of research methods tools. Learn about quantitative and qualitative methods in the Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, practice data analysis, and use the Project Planner tool to organize research projects. Also included are social research case studies, videos, datasets for teaching and instruction, and analytical tools.
-
Text and Data Mining guideLearn about text and data mining, including tools for textual analysis and texts the library has access to for text mining.
-
Qualitative social research : critical methods for social change (ebook)
by
Publication Date: 2024 -
Research Integrity: best practices for the social and behavioral sciences (ebook)
by
Publication Date: 2022 -
The Routledge Companion to Gender and Affect (ebook)
by
Publication Date: 2022
Books on research
Evaluating Scholarly Articles
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Click through this web page to see the elements included in a scholarly article.
-
Ulrichs Web OnlineUlrich's Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. ULRICHSWEB.com is updated weekly and contains search and browse indexes--such as language and frequency--that are not found in the print version. In addition ULRICHSWEB.com links users to related serials for alternate titles and alternate media formats and contains tens of thousands of URLs and e-mail addresses for links to journals and publishers. ULRICHSWEB.com gives users access to serials information beyond the title level, with links to tables of contents, article abstracts, journal full-text, and document delivery.
Note: Users will need to register for a free individual account to take advantage of the full functionality of this resource.
AI & feminist ethics
-
Feminist AI: Critical Perspectives on Algorithms, Data and Intelligent Machines (ebook)
by
Publication Date: 2024 -
A Companion to Applied Philosophy of AI
by
Publication Date: 2025Chapter 14: Feminist Ethics and AI
Writing
UNC Writing Center Offers in-person and online consultations.
The Writing Center also has tip sheets to help with writing techniques, such as: