Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
WGST 790: Graduate Seminar in Women's & Gender Studies: Home
Secondary Source databases
- GenderWatchFull-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
- Women's Studies InternationalInterdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.
- E-Research by DisciplineFind databases in other subject areas using the library's E-Research by Discipline page, including databases focusing on different regions of the globe.
books: course required & affinity texts
Required Texts
Affinity Texts (available at our Libraries)
Abolition.Feminism.Now (ebook) by Publication Date: 2022
Black on Both Sides: a racial history of trans identity (ebook) by Publication Date: 2017
Bodyminds Reimagined: (dis)ability, race, and gender in black women's speculative fiction (ebook) by Publication Date: 2018Select Duke University Press at link.
Care Work: Dreaming Disability Justice by Call Number: HV1568 .P54 2018Publication Date: 2018The Libraries have access to a print copy, 1-user at a time ebook, and 1-user at a time audiobook. Print book is at Davis Library (when available)- ¡Chicana Power! : contested histories of feminism in the Chicano movement byCall Number: E184.M5 B55 2011Publication Date: 2011Print copy at Davis Library (when available)
Feminism Without Borders: decolonizing theory, practicing solidarity (ebook & print) by Call Number: HQ1870.9 .M64 2003Publication Date: 2003Select Duke University Press at the link for ebook access. Print copy at Davis Library (when available)
From a Native Daughter: colonialism and sovereignty in Hawaiʻi (ebook) by Publication Date: 1999
Killing the Black Body by Call Number: HQ766.5.U5 R58 1999Publication Date: 1997Available in several library locations
Living a Feminist Life (ebook) by Publication Date: 2016Select Duke University Press at the link for ebook access.
Qur'an and Woman: rereading the sacred text from a woman's perspective (print & ebook) by Call Number: BP134.W6 W28 1999Publication Date: 1999available at several library locations
Art resources
- ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
- Art & Architecture SourceIncludes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.
- feminism and art - subject headingBooks in the library catalog with subject heading - feminism and art. Books will have lists of figures or plates AKA artwork
- Women, Art, and Art History: Gender and Feminist AnalysesAnnotated bibliography in Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Feminist Aesthetics and Feminist Philosophy of ArtAnnotated bibliography in Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Feminism and 19th-century Art HistoryAnnotated bibliography in Oxford Bibliographies Online
Newspaper articles
- Alt-PressWatchAlt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.
- New York Times Academic PassUNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.
Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.
To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account.
- New York Times: Gender & Society NewsletterSign up for New York Times academic pass and you can view this newsletter in full on the NYT website
- Washington Post (Online)Access articles for the The Washington Post in 15 years of rolling archival content to the present. Available to all UNC students, faculty, and staff.
Note: For remote access, create an individual account here, using your UNC email.
- Washington Post: Gender & Identity NewsletterFind full text online via our Washington Post online access.
Some Top Women's & Gender Studies Journals
Browse the Women's and Gender Studies journals to which UNC has some electronic access. Some example feminist journals:
Feminisms
Use articles+ to search for journal articles on different categories of feminism.
These are examples and not an exhaustive list.
orcid.org/0000-0003-2533-582X