Skip to main content

Genealogy Research at Wilson Special Collections Library: Home

What is in this guide?

William J. Clarke and Family, from the Rufus Morgan Photographic Collection, P0057/0265This guide explains how to conduct genealogy research using Wilson Special Collections Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. This guide focuses on conducting research using both Wilson Special Collections Library's archival materials and its print materials from the North Carolina Collection. It also incorporates resources from UNC Libraries' general collections and electronic resources from institutions outside of UNC Libraries. The guide is organized as follows:

  • Getting Started - This page is an introduction to genealogical research at Wilson Special Collections Library, including strategies for searching our catalogs and databases, and lists of print and online resources.
  • African American Genealogy - This page explains how to research African American genealogy using Wilson's manuscript collections and online resources available via UNC Libraries and beyond.
  • County and Public Records - This page touches upon the county and public records that can be found in Wilson Special Collections Library.
  • Newspapers - Newspapers are a valuable source of information, from marriage announcements and obituaries to chronicling events. This page explains what newspaper resources are available at Wilson Special Collections Library in the North Carolina Collection.

Note: we do not have trained genealogists on staff, and due to time constraints and volume of requests received, we are limited in the amount of research we can do for patrons. Most state libraries, archives, and historical societies, however, do have genealogy sections and staff trained to assist genealogical researchers.

Subject Guide

Sarah Carrier's picture
Sarah Carrier
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Contact:
919-962-4361
  • Last Updated: Nov 2, 2020 11:15 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/WilsonGenealogy