Skip to Main Content

Genealogy Research at Wilson Special Collections Library: Newspapers

Newspapers in the North Carolina Collection

The North Carolina Collection includes original copies and microfilm of many of the state’s newspaper titles. You can use the online catalog to search for them by title. Enter the name of the paper in the box labeled journal title.

It’s also possible to search for all newspapers in a city or county. In the keyword search box, enter the name of the city or county followed by "-- newspaper." For example, to find newspapers for Statesville, type Statesville (N.C.) -- newspapers. The Carolina Times front page August, 28, 1937

Many of the newspaper titles held by the North Carolina Collection are also available digitally. Some may require a UNC Onyen or use of University Libraries computers for access. The benefit of accessing these databases is that the text is full-text searchable. Sources include:

Please also see this list of African American newspapers in North Carolina.

Additionally, the North Carolina Collection holds some compilations of marriage and death notices from various state newspapers, which can be found by searching the catalog with a keyword search such as Marriage Notices Newspapers.

Clippings Files

For more than 50 years, staff members with the North Carolina Collection have clipped articles about notable North Carolinians, important North Carolina places and events, and issues that affect the state’s citizens. Photocopies of these articles are organized alphabetically and bound in volumes. Many of these volumes include an index. There are two series of bound volumes–biographical clippings and subject clippings. In some cases, there are separate volumes of subject clippings on specific topics, including the University of North Carolina, Orange and Wake counties, and African Americans in North Carolina. The North Carolina People, Places, and Things search tool allows users to search by keyword across all the North Carolina Collection’s clipping files.

  • Last Updated: Nov 16, 2021 11:39 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/WilsonGenealogy