Skip to main content

A Guide to Researching Collections in the Ackland Art Museum: Home

Welcome!

Japanese Woodblock print with abstract flowers and birds.

Jun Hisatomi, Japanese, 20th Century: Garden from Art for the Street (Gaito Ha), 1931; color woodblock print. 9 5/8 x 5 1/8 in. Ackland Art Museum, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Gift of Beth Shaw McGuire in honor of Timothy Riggs, 2014.13.5. 

About this Guide

Since 1958, The Ackland Art Museum has been one of North Carolina’s most important cultural resources. The Ackland's permanent collection includes approximately 18,000 works of art. 

The Sloane Art Library, located adjacent to the Ackland Art Museum in the Hanes Art Center, is one of the premier research libraries of the South.

This guide is maintained by staff at the Ackland Art Museum and the Sloane Art Library to assist visitors and students researching art objects from the Ackland's collections. It includes links to books, articles, image databases, and other resources.

For a more complete compilation of resources concerning art and architecture research, please visit the Art & Architecture subject research guide.

Object Based Learning

Search the Ackland's Collection Database to find information on your object.

Remember that nothing can replace direct observation of your selected object - go to the Ackland as many times as you need!

How to Read a Label

Permanent Collection Resource Guides

The following Resource Guides, organized by museum gallery, provide suggested online and print resources related to the objects on view from the Ackland’s permanent collection. 

Librarian

Alexandra Deyneka's picture
Alexandra Deyneka
Contact:
Sloane Art Library
102 Hanes Art Center

My pronouns are: she/her/hers
  • Last Updated: Aug 26, 2020 10:37 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/ackland