A Guide to Researching Collections in the Ackland Art Museum: Finding Articles
Background Information
Encyclopedias are a starting point – use these to understand basic concepts, find useful search terms, and locate more in-depth resources. Encyclopedia articles are not generally used as a source you would cite in a research paper. Follow the bibliography!
- Heilbrunn Timeline of ArtCompiled by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's curatorial, conservation, and education staff, covers pre-history to the present day. Contents arranged chronologically, geographically, and thematically
- Oxford Art OnlineProvides a single portal for searching across several major art encyclopedias and dictionaries, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Entries include bibliographies for further research, images, and often examples of artists' signatures.
Art & Architecture Article Databases
- Art & Architecture SourceIncludes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.
- Art & Architecture E-Resources (All)Link here to a complete listing of E-Resources (e.g., full text databases, citations, image databases, etc.)
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsAvery Index to Architectural Periodicals surveys thousands of U.S. and foreign journals and is updated on a weekly basis. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals and major serial publications on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. This database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries.
- Blue Mountain Project: Historic Avante-Garde Periodicals for Digital ResearchA freely available thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals published between 1848, the year of the European Revolutions, and 1923 – a functional boundary for works presumed to be in the public domain.
General Arts & Humanities Article Databases
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Italy
Elisabeth Jerichau-Baumann, German (born in Poland, died in Denmark), 1819-188: Italy; 1859; oil on canvas. 38 1/4 x 28 in. Ackland Art Museum, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gift of Ruth and Sherman Lee, 2003.35.1.
Connect with us
