Provenance is the recorded history of ownership of an object. It is a process of identifying specific details of ownership, works of art attributed to a particular artist, and proving an object's authenticity. It can also lend historical, social, and economic context to the art object itself and the environment in which it was created.
Call Number: N3999 .Y45 2001 (Sloane Art Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This guide is a comprehensive and authoritative resource for tracing the ownership history of works of art. Focused on cultural property looted by the Nazis and others during WWII, it is divided into three parts: Basic Provenance Research and Principles, Holocaust-Era Provenance Research, and Appendixes, which include bibliographies of collections, dealer archives, and "red flag names" compiled by the Office of Strategic Services. Includes an index and reproductions of artworks and relevant documents.
The Getty Provenance Index databases contain 1.5 million records such as archival inventories, sales catalogs, and dealer stockbooks. These searchable databases can be used for research purposes such as tracing ownership and discovering patterns and trends in art collecting.
Its purpose is to monitor and report upon the detrimental effects of the international trade in illicit antiquities (i.e. antiquities which have been stolen or clandestinely excavated and illegally exported)
Points to places to find biographical information for over 5 million people, living and dead. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes various editions of over 700 biographical reference sources, both current and retrospective, that cover historical as well as contemporary figures. Examples of sources indexed would include many of the "Who's Who" indexes, a number of the "Oxford Companions," and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. A complete list of sources and editions is given in the appendix accompanying the documentation.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Beginning or professional genealogists can use this online library, with original page images for all documents. With over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online provides the chance to tap in to one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
The Holocaust Survivors and Victims Database, one of the largest resources of its kind, centralizes information from the Museum’s collections about individual survivors and victims of the Holocaust and Nazi persecution.
The database includes millions of personal records from the Museum’s extensive collections of archival and library materials, oral histories, artifacts, photographs, film and videos and other materials that could assist in researching the fates of individuals during the Holocaust.