Skip to main content

Artists' Books and Supporting Resources: About Our Collection

The Artists' Book Collection at Sloane

The Sloane Art Library’s collection of artists’ books is a teaching collection, meaning that we collect as broadly as possible so that students and other patrons can see the full range of possibilities in the artists’ book form.  The collection is used by both studio art and art history faculty in support of their classes, as well as an active local book arts community. 

Special areas of strength in our collection are:

Access and Outreach

Most of the artists’ books are kept behind the circulation desk, but a small number are in the stacks for regular browsing.  They can be found with call numbers beginning with N7433.4.

We work in a number of ways to increase awareness of the collection and to promote its use:

  • public events, including an annual artists’ book reading held in September at the Art Library
  • exhibits of artists’ books both in the small display case in the library as well as in larger exhibit spaces in Hanes Art Center
  • enhanced records for artists’ books in the library’s online catalog, to facilitate searching by special features and methods
  • adding photos of all of our artists’ books to the ARTstor image database, so that images are more widely available for research and classroom use

"Konglish," by Jana Sim

Open artist's book with text printed in Korean and English.

  • Last Updated: Sep 4, 2020 3:02 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/artists-books