Skip to main content

ARTstor Image Collections & Services: Faculty & Instructor Services

ARTstor is a collection of over 1 million images covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It includes tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.

Access ARTstor at UNC

ARTstor logo 

You can browse ARTstor collections using a public computer on UNC campus.

In order to download or save content, you will need to register for an ARTstor user account. Access to your account will remain active off-campus so long as you sign-in to ARTstor on campus or through the UNC Library website within 120 days.  Everytime you sign-in on campus or through the library's website your account is reset for another 120 days.

System Requirements

Off-Campus Access

First Steps for Instructors

Did you know...?

  • UNC faculty in departments from across campus use ARTstor to manage their image and media collections.  Don't let the "ART" in ARTstor fool you!
  • ARTstor can accommodate not only image files but also PDFs, audio and video files. 
  • Library staff can work with you to add your image and media collections to ARTstor, along with the necessary descriptive information you and your students will need to search and retreive your content.
  • If you already own the copyright to the material that you add to ARTstor then you will retrain the copyright to that material.  Library staff can work with you to manage access to your ARTstor content.
  • If an instructor leaves UNC to work at another institution that also hosts ARTstor, they can have their personal collections transferred.


First Steps for Instructors:

  1. Request "Instructor Status" by contacting a UNC ARTstor Administrator.  Access to certain hosted collections is available to UNC graduate students, faculty and staff who request instructor status for research and instructional purposes.
  2. Teaching a course?  Learn how to:


Contact a UNC ARTstor Administrator for more information.  UNC's ARTstor Administrator is JJ Bauer.

Publishing with ARTstor Images

Images for Academic Publishing (IAP)

The IAP program was established to help address the challenges of scholarly publishing in the digital age by providing free images for academic publications through an automated Web-based service.

Scholars at subscribing ARTstor institutions can access these images through the ARTstor Digital Library. To find IAP images, simply add "IAP" to your search criteria. An icon reading "IAP" is located directly beneath the thumbnail image in your search results. Scholars working on specific publication projects who are unaffiliated with an ARTstor subscribing institution may request free IAP access by emailing iap@artstor.org.

More information...

Art Librarian

Alexandra Deyneka's picture
Alexandra Deyneka
Contact:
Sloane Art Library
102 Hanes Art Center

My pronouns are: she/her/hers

Visual Resources Curator (Art Dept)

JJ Bauer is the Visual Resources Curator for the Visual Resources Library

Contact Info
214 Hanes Art Center
phone:  919/962-3034
Send Email

Hours
Monday-Friday, 8:00-5:00

  • Last Updated: Nov 10, 2020 2:47 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/artstor