Bluegrass Music: Archival Collections
About Archival Collections
This LibGuide utilizes resources from Wilson Library Special Collections and the Music Library. Because of this, some of the materials will be available to check out through the library or to stream online, while other items will be available by request only.
Finding Special Collections in the catalog
When finding a special collection in the catalog, the title of the collection will be listed with “archival and manuscript material”. Clicking on the resource will provide an overview of the collection, but the most helpful tool is the finding aid. Clicking on “finding aid” opens a different page that gives more detailed information about that particular collection and its contents. Some finding aids include digitized materials, while others require a scheduled visit.
Why do I have to request items from Special Collections?
Unlike a library, an archive contains primary source materials that are unique and often fragile. Requesting material from a special collection may involve scheduling an appointment to look at the material in person, or receiving a copy.
Helpful resources
Finding Aids
A finding aid is one way that archivists make the materials within a collection available to search. It typically includes a collection overview, scope of content, copyright and permissions and sometimes a more detailed list of content. Finding aids are meant to help in the research process rather than being a complete description of what is available.
Navigating the finding aid
Finding aids have multiple sections and can be overwhelming to look at. Understanding how they are organized can help with navigating them. The format of finding aids may vary from institution to institution, but all finding aids include the same basic information such as an abstract, biography, scope and content, copyright and permissions. The top of the finding aid will typically have more general information such as an overview of the collection, subject headings and related collections. The finding aid will provide more detailed information the further you go, sometimes including a complete content list.
Finding Aid Tip:
The menu on the left side of the screen provides links to jump to different sections of the finding aid. If you are looking for a particular item, you can use “ctrl and F” (or “command and F on macs) to search for individual names, dates, locations and other keywords.
Use “search archival collections” to search the finding aids in Wilson Library.
Requesting Materials From Finding Aids
If the item you are interested in is not digitized, you can request it by clicking "request this collection" and specifying the call number of the item you want. You may request the item for an in-person visit, or through a duplication request. For more information on registering and requesting materials, visit the Registering and Requesting Materials page.
Registering to Use Special Collections Material
All archival materials and most North Carolina Collection materials may only be used in our secure reading room. To access Wilson Special Collections Library’s collections, all researchers must register and create a research account.
To begin the registration process, please select an option below:
- UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke University students, faculty, and staff may register by logging in with a valid UNC Onyen or Duke NetID.
- All other researchers may register by creating a username and password here.
If you are not affiliated with either UNC-Chapel Hill or Duke University, be sure to write down your username and password, as this information will be required each time you make a request for special collections material.
The first time you visit Wilson Library after completing your online pre-registration and creating a Request System account, you will need to complete the registration process by showing a staff member a government issued photo ID containing (1) your name, (2) your date of birth, and (3) an expiration date, and having your picture taken with our digital camera for inclusion in our database.
Finding Aid Glossary
Collection Overview shows the abstract and size of the collection.
Information for users provides information on copyright, use and citations.
Processing information highlights the archivists who processed the collection.
Subject headings link back to subject searches in the library catalog. These do not link to resources within the finding aid, however, it can help find related resources.
Related collections links to related finding aids.
Biographical info provides biographical information about the person or the organization.
Scope and content gives a more detailed overview of what is in the collection.
Contents list can be varied in detail depending on which collection it is for. Some of the items listed are digitized, others are not. The items listed that are not digitized may be requested here. Use “ctrl and F” (or “command and F” on macs) to search for specific items within the finding aid.
