Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
BUSI 691H: Honors Research Proposal: KFBS Data Resources
Resources through WRDS
WRDS Access is available only to current UNC-CH faculty, students, and selected staff.
Go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu and click on “REGISTER” in the upper right corner of the page to request access.
-
Audit AnalyticsDetailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Data taken from public company disclosures. Determine who is auditing whom and how much they are paying for what services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, industry, client revenue, market capital, changes in auditors, and more.
In addition to audits, the data in Audit Analytics also covers information related to compliance, governance, corporate actions, and federal litigation. 2001-present. -
BoardExData on boards of directors of publicly-listed companies around the world. Includes 2 million corporate executives & board members from over 2.2 million organizations. Biographical data includes details such as age, gender, positions held, educational qualifications, compensation and stock holdings, as well as insights into the executive’s professional network.
Coverage varies by data set. Some starts in 1999. -
COMPUSTAT (CRSP)Link CRSP market and corporate action data with Compustat fundamental data; search by Permno, Permco (CRSP), and or GVKEY identifiers (Compustat). Search CRSP and COMPUSTAT time series data on companies and securities side by side, regardless of CUSIP or ticker changes.
-
COMPUSTAT GlobalAnnual and quarterly of data for hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts covering thousands of publicly-traded companies in over 80 countries, including coverage of over 96% of European market capitalization and 88% of Asian market capitalization. Data for both current and inactive companies. 1987-present.
-
DealScan (via WRDS-LSEG)Information on the global commercial loan market. Contains comprehensive historical information on loan pricing and contracts details, terms, and conditions. Includes terms and conditions on over 200,000 loan transactions, which finance M&A activity, working capital needs, and other general corporate purposes for loan participants worldwide. Sources include regulatory filings, bank submissions, and journalist contributions.
-
EventusConduct event studies, such as a change in CEO or when a new tax regulation or other regulation was announced or took effect. Perform event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from other sources.
Includes utility programs to convert calendar dates to CRSP trading day numbers, convert CUSIP identifiers to CRSP permanent identification numbers, and extract event study cumulative or compounded abnormal returns for cross-sectional analysis. -
IBES (via LSEG)Historical earnings estimate database containing analyst estimates for over 20 forecast measures – including EPS (earnings per share), revenue, price targets, EBITDA and pre-tax profits. These measures are available on both consensus and detailed levels, covering both U.S. and international companies. Also includes buy-hold-sell recommendations. I/B/E/S = Institutional Brokers’ Estimate System.
-
Insider Filings Data (via LSEG)Designed to capture all insider activity as reported on SEC forms 3, 4, 5, and 144. Data is from Jan. 1986-present unless noted. Includes:
Table One: Table 1 non-derivative transaction and holdings information filed on Forms 3, 4, 5.
Table Two: Table 2 derivative transaction and holdings information filed on Form 3, 4, 5. Includes open market derivatives transactions as well as information on the award, exercise, and expiration of stock options.
Form 144: File contains the Proposed Sale file is derived from Form 144. This data includes the expected data of sale, the number of securities to be sold, the estimated market value of the proposed sales, and the name of the executing broker.
Average Returns: Info. relating to how a stock has historically performed following an insider’s transactions. Includes average 3-month and 6-month buy and sell returns as well as the number of historic buy and sell decisions for each individual insider.
Amendment Concordance: Links an amended filing to its original filing by way of DCN. This prevents double counting by allowing users to see which original filing is being replaced. The amendment concordance file is a full refresh every day. Please note: not all amended filings are included in this file, only those that meet our concordance criteria. Covers Oct. 2002-present. -
Institutional Money Manager (13f) Holdings (Via LSEG)Data from Thomson Financial.
Stock holdings and transactions by more than 4,300 Institutional Money Managers and money management companies. The Institutional Holdings data source is the actual 13f form filed with the SEC on a quarterly basis by money managers/management companies. The 13f data is aggregated to a manager level. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. (formerly known as CDA/Spectrum) -
IvyDB OptionMetricsIncludes historical option price, underlying security information, implied volatility, and sensitivity information for U.S. equity and index options markets.
Designed for empirical research. Data can be downloaded into a variety of statistical software packages allowing for analysis on all aspects of options investments including backtesting, trading strategies and evaluating risk models. 1996-present. -
Fixed Income Securities Database (FISD) (via LSEG-Mergent)Issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate MTN (medium term note), supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities and includes more than 550 data items. Provides details on debt issues and the issuers, as well as transactions by insurance companies. Useful to research market trends, deal structures, issuer capital structures and other areas of fixed income debt research.
-
NYSE Trade and Quote Millisecond (TAQ Millisecond)Offers tick-by-tick trade and quote data of all activity within the U.S. National Market System. Transaction information at the intraday level (to the microsecond) covering over 10,000 stock issues listed on 16 major American exchanges, including the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), American Stock Exchange (AMEX), and Nasdaq.
See also: Trade and Quote – “Monthly Product”. 1993 – 2014 -
RavenPack News AnalyticsSentiment analysis and event data focused on business and financial applications. Data includes news and social media content. Millions of analytical data points for articles on thousands of entities. These data points can be used to perform a wide variety of analysis on how entities are presented or covered by various Dow Jones News services.
-
RepRiskIdentify and assess environmental social and governance (ESG) risk incidents in a systematic way.
Includes 250,000+ listed and non-listed companies —15,000+ public companies and 235,000+ private companies. Offers risk metrics and underlying scores to assess and benchmark the risk exposure and business conduct of companies. Includes 101 ESG risk factors mapped to all companies. 2007-present, updated annually in October.
-
PreqinInformation on private equity venture capital plus real estate deals, funds, investors and fund managers; allows users to analyze data across the entire investment lifecycle. Information on over 177,000 VC deals, 75,000 PE deals, and 80,000 RE deals. Data points include Cash flows into and out of funds, Funds terms including carried interest, management fees, hurdle rates, and more. 1953-present; more robust data: 2000-present.
Access Preqin directly through WRDS. The Private Equity and Venture Capital segments of Preqin may also be accessed through a WRDS account. The Real Estate segment cannot.
LSEG
-
LSEG WorkspaceSource for information on publicly traded U.S. and international companies: summary financial data with links to company filings, key ratios actual and forward estimates, stock pricing data, key corporate events, officers and directors, analyst rating, ESG scores, and more. Add-on Modules available: Aftermarket Reports (AMR), Datastream, SDC Platinum.
Note: Users must first self-register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.
-
Getting Started with LSEG WorkspaceLearn how to access LSEG Workspace and the add-on modules Datastream, SDC Platinum, and Aftermarket Reports.
Non-WRDS Resources
-
Capital IQEasy-to-use tools for financial statements, deals, and sector analysis, providing data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies. Create numerous reports and use their Excel modeling tool.
-
CBInsightsVenture capital, angel investment, and private equity database. Tracks global venture capital, angel investment, private equity, M&A, and IPO activity related to private companies. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research.
Notes- Students, faculty and staff must create an account using their UNC email address.
- Each user is limited to 4,000 lines of downloading per year.
-
Datastream
Provides daily pricing, volume, and performance information on equities, market stock and bond indices, macroeconomic data series, foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rates, fixed income instruments, financial and commodity futures and options contracts. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.
Note: Datastream is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Complete this form to request this module be added to your account: https://unc.libwizard.com/f/datastream-access. Please allow 2 business days for a response to your request. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account, self-register for an account following the instructions here: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.
-
GlobalData IntelligenceCompany, consumer, product, market and country-specific analysis for consumer packaged goods. Millions of skus for new foods, beverages, health & beauty aids, household, pet and tobacco products from around the world. More than 20 searchable data fields per report help you track launches by brand and product name, manufacturer, product category, health claim, flavor, ingredient and more.
Note: From login screen, select “IP Access” to access database. Then select “Consumer” in the “Access Your Subscriptions” menu.
-
NielsenIQ and Nielsen DataThe Consumer Panel data, Retail Scanner data, and Ad Intel data from Nielsen.
Only available to tenured or tenure-track faculty and PhD students under their supervision at UNC-Chapel Hill. Contact Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu to request an account.