Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Data & Statistics for Business: Home

Purpose of Research Guide

This guide curates research and information sources for business. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources.

Email the University Libraries for guidance: Researchassistance@unc.edu

Using the Library Catalog & Article Databases to Find Data

Using the Library Catalog for Finding Data

UNC Libraries have collections of datasets available for academic and research use by UNC affiliates. On the catalog Advanced Search screen, scroll down until you see the search bar labeled "Resource Type." Click your cursor into the Resource Type search bar and select "Dataset -- Statistical" to browse or search datasets.

Using Articles for Finding Data

When you need data for a topic, one search strategy is to look for research articles on your topic that use data. You can find out where those articles got their data from, and try out their sources to find similar data.

UNC Catalog Search with Links

Search for Articles: UNC Databases

Business Source Premier
Covers scholarly articles for all business subjects: marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Also includes financial data, MarketLine company profiles, Harvard Business Review articles, SWOT analyses, and more.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies widely.
ABI/INFORM Collection

Articles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines. Topics covered include leadership, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business and economics.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Coverage varies. Some academic journals start in the 1800s, and some newspapers start in the early 1900s.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.
Factiva
Contains major global newspapers, business newspapers and magazines, trade and industry journals, prominent newswires, and network broadcast transcripts. In the Companies/Markets tab, there are global company reports, limited industry reports, and market data. The results pages allow robust filtering, and there is live chat help.

Note: 5 Concurrent User Limit

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. 9,000 sources are updated on the day of publication.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.
Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
EconLit
Access research articles, citations, and abstracts on economics, accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Major index to economic literature from the American Economic Association.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1969 to present
Nexis Uni
Covers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Magazines, academic journals and reference works on entrepreneurial topics, as well as case studies, thousands of company profiles, and 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Seminar Series and Vator.TV.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Social Science Research Network
SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of several specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Authors often post articles and book chapters in SSRN before they are published in a scholarly journal. Papers are frequently available on SSRN for download without charge and without a subscription.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection
Contains company records and analysis of major global and regional economic and political developments.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Contact Us

Need help? Contact the Libraries using the form on our Contact Us page.