Provides users with a wealth of statistics about contemporary China, focusing on economic and demographic statistics. Data from national, provincial, county, and city levels can be accessed, on a monthly and/or yearly basis.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies, generally from mid-1990s to present
Access data on economics, crime, health, population, energy, the environment, and more in a single interface. Manipulate data; create charts, graphs, tables, maps. For help, see the user guide.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
An online service that provides international economic and financial data in time series format. Series are acquired from national governments and banks, the Federal Reserve, the International Monetary Fund, OECD, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and other international agencies. Additional features include commodity prices, debt and equity information, exchange rates, interest rates, stock market indices, futures, options, and much more. Access in Library Data Services on the second floor of Davis Library.
Access: On Campus only. Available by contacting Nancy Lovas for assistance with access at: email@example.com. No off campus access. Coverage: Varies; some major data series start in the 1950s. Updated daily.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contains more than 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.
Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies
Data source that combines current and historical risk ratings to produce political, economic, financial, and social risk data for over 150 countries dating to 1984 in most cases. Useful for studying political, social, and economic stability. Provides access to the data underlying the International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) publication. It includes MONTHLY averages of political risk and QUARTERLY updates of the economic/financial indicators. The regime forecasts for each country are updated 2-3 times annually. Data may be downloaded in tabular form.
Note: Users will need to allow popups to enable this database to work properly.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1984 - present
International Financial Statistics is the standard source of international and country statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. For most countries of the world, IFS Online provides current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Archival FRED (ALFRED) from the St. Louis Fed's Economic Research Division allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time.
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. FRASER began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004 and now provides access to data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve System and many other institutions.
BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international data that presents essential information on economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the United States' position in the world economy.
Provides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
Statistics on development indicators back to 1960 from the World Bank. Time series data cover demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and geographic and political groupings of countries. Data are updated quarterly. Access through the online dataBank, or in Excel or CSV formats.
Access: No restrictions. Coverage: 1960 - present, updated quarterly.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF’s more than 20,000 publications as well as gateways to other IMF databases and sites, including data and statistical tools. Find information and analysis on topics including macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
Presents recent data on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies from the World Bank’s Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases.
Research & data center providing support for social science research. Online help & consultations available for: proposals, Qualtrics, survey research, qualitative research, quantitative research, data management, and more.
Maintains UNC Dataverse repository.
Part of the Federal Statistical Research Data Center (FSRDC) program. Under this program, the Census Bureau and other agencies allows researchers with approved proposals to perform statistical analysis on non-public microdata from a variety of statistical agencies to address important research questions.
Six focus areas: Aging in Diverse Contexts; Inequality, Mobility, and Well-being; Links Between Health and Social and Economic Productivity; Measurement and Methods; Population, Health and Environment; and Sexuality, Reproduction, Fertility, and Families.