Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Entrepreneurial Law Research

This guide provides an overview of legal resources and tools for researching entrepreneurial law at UNC School of Law.

North Carolina and Entrepreneurial Entities

There is a great deal of assistance available for start-ups and non-profits, and much of it is provided by the federal government, state governments, and other for-profit or non-profit entities. Additionally, many of the laws, or the available assistance, that apply to non-profits may differ across states, so researchers are encouraged to consult state-specific resources to learn more about these sources. This page provides links to a selection of available federal and state resources, as well as a list of North Carolina-specific practitioners' materials that are useful in researching different aspects of entrepreneurial law.

North Carolina State and Federal Resources

The U.S. federal government and the state of North Carolina offer a number of resources to start-ups, small businesses, and nonprofits, often through government agencies or private-public partnerships. These may include informational sessions, trainings, grant or funding opportunities, information about the business and economic landscape, and much more. Some helpful government websites include:

North Carolina Department of Commerce: This government agency connects businesses with the site locations, workforce and infrastructure, provides information to local communities about grants and funding to attract new businesses.The agency also administers the state’s economic incentives program and publishes data, statistics, information and reports on state’s economy.

North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board: Part of the NC Department of Commerce, the Tourism Board advocates for the development of the travel and tourism industry in the state.

North Carolina Commerce Programs and Services Directory: Provided by the NC Department of Commerce, this directory links to many development programs provided by the agency.

U.S. Economic Development Administration North Carolina page: Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, the EDA provides a list of NC resources and entities that support businesses here.

North Carolina Economic Development Nonprofits and Development Funds

North Carolina is home to many business development entities, some of which are public-private partnerships with government agencies, some are nonprofits themselves, and others may be professional associations or private businesses. Some helpful resources include:

Carolina Small Business Development Fund: A nonprofit and certified community development financial institution, the CSBDF provides capital, business services, and policy research to support small businesses.

North Carolina Economic Development Association: The NCEDA is a nonprofit organization that supports North Carolina businesses through professional education and training, association networking opportunities, and advocacy of business interests.

Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina: The EDPNC is a nonprofit private-public partnership that operates under contract with the NC Department of Commerce while also supported by the private sector. They recruit companies and market the State of North Carolina as a business and tourist location under contract with the N.C. Department of Commerce.

Mountain BizWorks: A nonprofit and certified community development financial institution, Mountain BizWorks serves western North Carolina. They provide small business loans and advice to small businesses, start-ups, and nonprofits in that area.

North Carolina Association of Community Development Corporations: A trade association for Community Development Corporations, this nonprofit provides programs and services for CDCs in North Carolina.

Duke Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative: Hosted by Duke University in Durham, NC, Duke I&E serves as a hub and resource center that connects students, faculty, staff, and community members to education, mentoring, resources, and more.

North Carolina Center for Nonprofits: The North Carolina Center for Nonprofits was founded in October 1990 to provide a space for nonprofits to work together to strengthen their organizations and the nonprofit sector.

North Carolina Practitioners' Materials

Basics of Business Law. Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, c1988-.  [KFN7613 .A75 B38]

These CLE materials, compiled from a weekend program on business law in North Carolina, covers many of the issues that will face an attorney practicing business law, from choosing a form of association to working with commercial loans and identifying environmental or intellectual property concerns.

Note: The Law Library's most recent holding of this text is from 2010. Access to the most recent edition (2017) is available online with a NC Bar Association membership.

Robinson, Russel M., Robinson on North Carolina Corporation Law. 7th ed. Newark, NJ: LexisNexis/ Matthew Bender, 2002-.    [KFN7613 .R62 7th] [Available electronically via Lexis+ to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource combines treatise-like analysis of corporation law in North Carolina --including case law and statutory analysis -- with forms of a variety of corporate legal documents. Forms range from document templates to collections of sample language to be used to invoke particular legal constructs.

Note: The Law Library has been collecting the annual supplements since 2004, and the most recent supplement (2017) is with the copy located in the Reserves Room.

Jernigan, Leonard T. North Carolina Workers' Compensation: Law and Practice with Forms. 5th ed. St. Paul, MN : Thomson West, 2018 [KFN7742 .J47 2018] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This treatise, written for general practitioners, provides an overview of Workers’ Compensation law in North Carolina.  It includes, among others, chapters on procedural matters such as jurisdiction, discovery and statutes of limitations.  It also covers substantive matters such as special injuries, death benefits, hearing loss, and occupational diseases.  Forms are also included.

Johnson, Cyrus M., North Carolina Limited Liability Company : Forms and Practice Manual. 3rd ed. Brooklandville, MD : Data Trace Pub., 2001-. [KFN7607.5 .A65 J64 3rd]

This practice manual lays out the statutory provisions (and case law where relevant) which govern limited liability entities in North Carolina. It is organized around the “life cycle” of an organization, from formation and organization through dissolution. It contains numerous forms in the text, giving sample language for corporate documents, and also comes with a CD-ROM of forms.

Note: The Law Library has been collecting the supplements for this text since 2002, and the most current supplement (2017) is located with the text.

Snyder, James E., North Carolina Corporation Law and Practice Forms. 3rd ed., Suwanee, GA: Harrison Co., 1999. [KFN/7613 .A65 569 1999] [Available electronically via Westlaw Edge to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource contains a variety of business forms for everything from incorporation to settlements and release agreements. Beyond corporate forms, there are forms for other business entities, including: Limited Liability Companies, Limited Partnerships, Limited Liability Partnerships, Registered Limited Liability Limited Partnerships, Professional Corporations, Professional Limited Liability Companies, General Partnerships and Cooperative Associations.

Allen, Noel L., North Carolina Unfair Business Practice. 3rd ed. Newark, NJ: LexisNexis/Matthew Bender, 2004-2019. - [KFN 7630 .A95 3rd] [Available electronically via Lexis+ to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource provides an in-depth consideration of N.C. General Statute § 75-1.1. Amongst general principles the text also deals with defenses, procedural issues, and various applications and relations. Forms included within the appendix are primarily complaints; however, there are also settlement agreements, pretrial orders, and some jury issues.