HIST 89.001: Global Food History: Primary Sources
What are primary sources?
Primary sources are materials directly related to a topic by time or participation. These materials include letters, speeches, diaries, newspaper articles from the time, oral history interviews, documents, photographs, artifacts, cookbooks or anything else that provides firsthand accounts about a person or event.
General Primary Sources Guides
This local guide provides assistance in pursuing research using primary sources, especially those we have available here in several formats: paper, republication, microfilm, and electronic. The database below helps identifies primary source repositories around the world
ArchiveGrid serves as a single point of entry that provides online access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
Food-related Primary Source Database
- Food and Drink in HistoryPrimary source collection consisting of printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government documents, marketing reports, films and illustrated content from around the globe documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere (1514-1980). Highlights of Module I include the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.
Digital Primary Sources
Digitized books on cooking, gastronomy, food production, etc.
The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library.
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project This link opens in a new windowhttps://d.lib.msu.edu/fa
