ENGL 786: Introduction To Graduate Study: Archival Collections at UNC
Records, Papers, Archives
The Libraries offer many primary source documents, in a variety of formats.
Many digitized collections can be found within this guide and on the History databases page.
You can also search the online catalog for primary sources, using words such as: personal narratives, autobiographies, diaries, letters, records, sources, interviews, archives, or archival sources:
Visit our Wilson Special Collections Library. Additionally, many of these materials have been digitized. You will also find extensive digitized materials available on the Finding Aids for individual collections.
The guide for Using Records about Slavery in the Southern Historical Collection is a fantastic resource for the topic, but also an excellent guide to using Finding Aids and other research strategies for special collections.
Take some time to familiarize yourself with the various special collections. Keep in mind that our collection is extensive, going far beyond NC related material, and could include something relevant to your research no matter what your topic may be. Also, explore the special collections at Duke's Rubenstein Library using the same login you made when setting up an account for accessing material from Wilson Special Collections.
Other Archival Resources
The databases below help identify primary source repositories around the world. Many archival institutions put finding aids or guides to their collections on the web. They also may have some of their collections digitized and available online.
- ArchiveGridServes as a single point of entry that provides online access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide. Allows discovery of information about primary source materials - both personal papers and corporate records.
- Center for Research LibrariesSearches collaborative purchases for US academic libraries including foreign dissertations, newspapers, large microfilm sets, and more available for use through Interlibrary Loan
-
National Archives CatalogThe online catalog of the National Archives and Records Administration's nationwide holdings, including the Washington DC area, Regional Archives, and Presidential Libraries. It can also be used to search a subset of NARA documents that are available online.
Archival Resources at UNC
Microforms in Davis Library
The Microforms Collection is located on the Lower Level of Davis Library and includes over one million items on microfilm, microfiche, microcard, and microprint. Readers, printers, and scanners are available. A staff member or student assistant is available to assist patrons in locating materials and in using the equipment during microforms service hours. To ensure availability, please book an appointment to use the microforms scanner in advance.
A staff member will meet you at the Davis Library 1st floor service desk, and accompany you to the lower level.