HIST 398.004 Travel Writing: Other Primary Sources

Travel writing, diaires and correspondence by British men and women from their journeys through Europe, 1550-1850.

Provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages.  Included are translations and supporting materials (all of which are fully searchable); maps showing the routes of the travelers; introductory essays by leading scholars.

Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University, 1835-1976.

Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. With more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, the collection provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons.

Primary source collection from The National Archives, UK for the study of the apartheid, South African politics, trade relations, international opinion and humanitarian issues. Includes diplomatic dispatches, institutional records, biographies of prominent personalities, press reports, correspondence, books, maps, statistics, reports, analyses, and ephemera.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.

From the British National Archives, this digital collection consists of British Foreign Office (FO) files covering the period 1949-1980. It addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the Peoples Republic in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao Zedong, the arrest of the Gang of Four, and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.

These files, combining eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to examine developments in China and to assess US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards.

Offers rich English-language sources relating to China and the West for the period of 1793-1980. Based on sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London, the database includes disparate sources from visual images to papers of missionaries to records of diplomatic envoys that reflect Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.

Gale Archives Unbound is a suite of collections, each devoted to a particular topic, from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century. The collections include primary, unpublished historical documents and draw from institutional sources, governmental sources, and private collections.

This database contains rarely seen pamphlets from the Wason Pamphlet Collection at Cornell University. These pamphlets published between c.1750 and 1929 make up one of the most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world. Types of material include speeches, annual reports, catalogues, guides, lecture notes, letters, magazine, and more.

Funded with the generous support of the William M and Mary D Harrison Library Fund, Early Encounters documents the relationships among diverse peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The Indian perspective is recorded in a wide variety of sources, including oral accounts written down by Europeans at the time of contact and afterward, speeches, correspondence, and publications produced by Indians. The collection offers nearly 1,000 prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimile pages.

Part I presents more than 66,000 titles from the period 1450-1914 and is the most comprehensive collection in existence for the study of early economic, political, business and social history and for researching the literature of economics from this period. The collection contains books, serials, pamphlets, government publications and more.

Part II provides a glimpse into the second half of the 19th century and the global events and crises that occurred. Topics covered by this collection include: banking history, economic disaster and recovery, socialism and social movements, war and the military, law and government and industry and trade.

Serves as a single point of entry that provides online access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide. Allows discovery of information about primary source materials - both personal papers and corporate records.