HIST 398 History’s First Draft? Newspapers and the Modern World: Newspapers & Magazines

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

Collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. With >170 periodicals, annuals, and reports, its 60,000+ pages represent a centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects.

Provides access to about 500 newspapers from localities all across the United States during the 19th Century. Also searchable from within Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

The most comprehensive source covering primary sources on the Chinese Cultural Revolution. The database contains more than 10,000 Central Party documents, Communist party leaders' speeches, official newspaper articles from the early 1960s to the late 1970s, selections of some of the key Red Guard texts, and hard-to-reach archives that often buried within diverse Chinese newspapers many of which are not publicly available The database is updated annually.

The Chinese Communist Party official mouthpiece, first published in 1946. The digital People's Daily was developed in early 2000 by the People's Daily Press in Beijing China.

This resource contains three newspapers, Anqing Daily《安庆报》, Huainan Daily《淮南日报》, and Wuhu Daily《芜湖报》 published in the Anhui Province, during 1951-1966. Local newspapers are primary materials for understanding local politics and social life during this period.

Allows you to identify newspapers of all kinds published in America from 1690 to the present, see details about them, and find libraries that hold the papers either in paper or microform. Chronicling America provides free access to historic U.S. newspapers published from 1836 through 1922. North Carolina newspapers number among the titles available from more than 30 states and the District of Columbia.

ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online now has over 20 different newspapers with selective full-text coverage from the period 1780 to 1937. It serves as a portal to historical journals, periodicals, and newspapers published in the Habsburg Monarchy and Austria.

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.

Contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. See web site's "Database Description" for detailed information about individual newspapers. (Source: vendor website.)

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 to the 1920s, provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues from about 2000 newspapers from Colonial America to the Roaring Twenties. The papers were published in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Allows you to cross-search a variety of newspaper and periodical databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, British Newspapers, 1780 1950, Times (London) Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, and Economist Historical Archive.

Online database of digitized historical newspapers covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Focus is on Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and South Asia. Covers 19th and 20th centuries, and includes some of these regions’ largest and most important newspapers.

The online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. It includes yearbooks from NC colleges and universities, NC newspapers, NC city directories, photos from NC and other historical materials about North Carolina.

Coverage begins in 1901 and continues through present

971 anarcho-syndicalist periodicals, chiefly from Argentina, Mexico, Brazil, Uruguay, Chile, and Cuba, published primarily 1890-1920.

A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

A rich collection of primary source materials for in-depth study of the history of the United States. Component parts include: America’s Historical Imprints, Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922, America's Historical Newspapers, African American NewspapersSeries 1, 1827-1998, Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, and African American Periodicals 1825-1995.

A collection of national, regional, and local newspapers from Britain (1732-1950) and Ireland (1797-1950), sourced from the British Library.

Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Similar to African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, this new collection is based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).

Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to this comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Contains over 1,000 journals published between 1740 and 1900.  American Periodicals From the Center for Research Libraries provides full text to nearly 400 journals.  The collection contains special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals,. See "About" within the database for a fuller description.

British Periodicals I and II includes the searchable full text and facsimile page images of 500 periodicals published between 1681 and 1921, a significant time not only for British history, but, given the growth and dominance of the British Empire for most of that period, world history. British Periodicals III extends the scope of British Periodicals by focusing on the first half of the twentieth century. All of this content is available in full page images with searchable full text.

Currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.

Contains articles, illustrations, cartoons, and maps drawn from rare periodicals and campaign newspapers representing Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British viewpoints. Published between 1860 and 1865, the titles enable users to browse issues week by week to follow the election of Lincoln in 1860; the subsequent course of the Civil War from Fort Sumter through Appomattox; Lincoln's re-election in 1864; his assassination in 1865; and the beginning of Reconstruction under President Andrew Johnson. In addition Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines contains dozens of scholarly contributions, including an introduction by the Pulitzer Prize-winning scholar, James McPherson, making the database the definitive online Civil War media resource.

Provides access to the full text of some significant and not widely held women's periodicals produced in the period 1786-1933; strong for writing relating to suffrage.

An online collection of British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals provides an in-depth view of British life in the Romantic & Victorian age.  Series I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport. Series II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial.

Provides access to millions of articles in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000, many of which are not in English.

A retrospective full text collection of more than 100 jazz periodicals from the 1910s to the 1990s, including such standard works as Downbeat and Record Research. Covers many short run and rare titles that are hard to find elsewhere.

Fully searchable, primary-source collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Primarily English language, but a number of Danish, French, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.

Consists of articles reporting on the Civil War from important newspapers as well as first-person accounts of the soldiers and officers who fought in the conflict.

The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

This collection comprises 25 newspapers produced by Japanese-Americans held in relocation camps in the United States during World War II.

Available through the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, offers over 3 million pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper, from 1851 to 2 or 3 years ago. Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

This collection contains both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theaters around the world. Publications are included from the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.

Documents 200 years of cultural, political, social and historical events. This database is also searchable via British Newspapers, 1600 - 1950, and also via Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.

Offers segments of four 18th Century South Carolina Newspapers: South Carolina Gazette; South Carolina & American General Gazette; South Carolina Gazette and Country Journal; Gazette of the State of South Carolina.This collection contains a wealth of information on colonial and early American History and genealogy, and provides an accurate glimpse of life in South Carolina and America, with additional coverage of events in Europe, during the early days of this country.The South Carolina Gazette — 1732–1775The South Carolina & American General Gazette — 1764–1775The South Carolina Gazette & Country Journal — 1765–1775The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina — 1777–1780

The Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition is the financial newspaper of record. It provides business, financial, and world news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns. Is it published 6 days a week.

Offers hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper from 1877 to 1990. Researchers and students can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

American Indian Newspapers offers the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.

The Guardian and The Observer are two major newspapers from the United Kingdom, and offer additional perspective to that of the Times of London.