Skip to Main Content

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Collections: Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Collections at University Libraries!

I am delighted that you have chosen to explore our collections and I am thrilled that you are interested in Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies! Whether you are deep into your research project, or just getting started; whether you are a language student, or a native speaker; whether you are a Tar Heel, or a visitor to Carolina, I am certain that you will find information and inspiration among our vast holdings. 

We offer: 

  • Deep collection of English language scholarship, popular materials, translations into English, and primary sources dealing with this complex region. 
  • Vibrant collection programs for scholarly, popular, and primary source materials in the humanities and social sciences in Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian, Czech, Polish, Russian, Slovak, and Ukrainian languages.

  • Partnership with Duke University Libraries that greatly extends coverage of Polish, Russian, and Ukrainian language publications. 
  • Russian language publications from countries with active Russian language publishing, including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Israel, Moldova, Ukraine, and the United States, and, through our partnership with Duke, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

  • A rich collection of Hungarian literature, a sizeable legacy collection of Bulgarian publications, as well as smaller pockets of publications in other languages from the region.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch for help with research, for reading suggestions, to puzzle over Russian verbal aspect together, or just to say hello. I look forward to hearing from you!

Kirill

Kirill Tolpygo
Librarian for Global Studies, Linguistics, Slavic & East European Studies,

Community Access

Library Borrower's CardWe welcome all visitors! Our guest wi-fi provides access to most of our electronic resources. North Carolina residents may obtain a Borrower's Card in order to check out books. Visiting or resident unaffiliated scholars interested in full access to library collections, including electronic resources, may wish to apply for the CSEEES Fellows Program.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Kirill Tolpygo
he / him / his
Contact:
118 Davis Library, CB#3918
(919) 962-8044