Online Statistical Information for the UNC Law Community

This website, using information from the CIA and other U.S. government entities, provides basic information and statistics about countries throughout the world.

This site contains several public data sets for various aspects of international relations, many of them related to war or armed conflict. Data access is free, but users must agree to certain restrictions. The Correlates of War project is currently maintained by Pennsylvania State University.

[Available to UNC faculty, students, and staff] Data Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The over 12.6 billion datasets in Data Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. Data comes from more than 70 U.S. and international sources including Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, China Data Institute, Deutsche Borse Group, European Commission, the World Bank, and more. The site allows for searching by subject and subjects covered by the data include international. The time period covered varies.

Funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development, the Demographic and Health Surveys Program collects, analyzes, and disseminates representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries. The STATcompiler tool found on the site allows the user to make custom tables, charts, and maps based on thousands of DHS indicators across countries.

This web page lists several international data resources from the U.S. Census Bureau. These include the International Data Base (provides general demographic information back to 1950 as well as projections up to 2050), World Population Summary, Country Rankings (by population), HIV/AIDS Surveillance (only for certain countries), and Global Population Mapping.

[Available electronically via University Libraries with Onyen and password] This eBook provides historical demographic and economic statistics from 1750 and 2010. Statistics are arranged by the following regions: Africa, Asia, and Oceania; the Americas; and Europe.

Put together by statistics enthusiasts to make international statistics more accessible, this web site has a variety of statistics for many nations and allows for some comparisons.

[Available electronically via University Libraries with Onyen and password] This database contains the full text of polling questions and responses from a variety of polls. Most of the polls are in the United States, but some are from other countries. Coverage begins in 1986.

This database provides a portal that allows the simultaneous searching and browsing of 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations, including the UN Statistics Division, UN Population Division, Food and Agriculture Organization, International Labour Organization, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, World Tourism Organization, UNESCO.

This database allows users to find historical information back to 1950 based on UN population information resources for countries and regions, and it also allows users to find information on country and world population projections through 2100.

Website of the United Nations Statistics Division, which contains information and some statistical data collected by the United Nations Statistical Division. Data categories include economic, demographic/social, environment/energy, and gender statistics.

This site contains World Health Organization (WHO) health-related data, including Global Health Observatory (GHO) data, WHO reports, and country statistics. The WHO's primary role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations system.

This website has economic and financial data from the International Monetary Fund, whose primary mission is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system, including data about the IMF's own activities.

This database contains a variety of statistics, many of them related to economic development. Users can create their own reports with the data. World Bank is an economic development organization.

This database contains Australian statistics provided by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

This database contains Brazilian statistics provided by the Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics.

[Available electronically via University Libraries with Onyen and password] Produced by the China Data Center of the University of Michigan, this online resource provides a wide variety of economic and demographic statistics about China at the national, provincial, city, and county levels. It also has some mapping tools, such as free version of the China Explorer and a Religion Explorer. Some databases are listed but not available through UNC's subscription, such as census data, and are marked with a circle-backslash symbol.

This web site is statistical database produced by the National Bureau of Statistics of China. It provides access to a variety of economic and demographic statistics, most of which go back to 1996.

This database contains Russian statistics provided by the Federal State Statistic Service.

This database contains Kenyan statistics provided by the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics.

This database contains Mexican statistics provided by the National Institute of Statistics, Geography and Informatics which was created by presidential decree in 1983.

This database contains Spanish statistics provided by the National Statistics Institute.

This database contains statistics for the United Kingdom provided by the Office for National Statistics.

This database contains Japanese statistics provided by the Statistics Bureau of Japan.

This database contains Canadian statistics provided by the Statistics Canada, the national statistical office.

This database contains Portuguese statistics provided by Statistics Portugal, the central statistical authority of Portugal.

This database contains South African statistics provided by Statistics South Africa which was created to to advance the planning, production, analysis, documentation, storage, dissemination and use of official and other statistics.

This database contains Taiwanese statistics provided by the Statistics Bureau of Taiwan.

This website contains data about African public attitudes about politics and other issues from surveys collected by an African non-partisan survey research project. Some of the data requires special statistical software to access.

The Arab Barometer is a nonpartisan research network that has been performing public opinion surveys on social, political, and economic attitudes and values across the Arab world since 2006.

This site is hosted by a research program that aims to gauge public opinion on issues such as political values, democracy, and governance across Asia.

This website is hosted by a non-commercial non-governmental international social survey organization headquartered at the Institute for Comparative Survey Research "Eurasia Barometer" in Vienna, Austria. Its main aim is to monitor political, social and economic transformations in the countries of post-communist Europe and post-Soviet Eurasia in the opinion of their populations.

This webpage links to Eurobarometer-related sites with data. Eurobarometer is a program that monitors public opinion in the European Union. Some of the data requires specific statistical packages.

Global Barometer Surveys is the first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world. It provides an independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues.

This website provides free access to Americas Barometer surveys, which measure public opinion in Latin America. Users can query the databases for free; however, to access the underlying data sets, users must agree to use restrictions.