Online Statistical Information for the UNC Law Community

This website contains data from the Center for Disease Control's Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, a series of telephone surveys that measure health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventative services by state. The site contains state and some city data accessible through data tools, data sets, and fact sheets. Information about the survey's methodology and questionnaires is also available. Some data may require specialized software to access.

This website provides Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) statistics and data for various topics. Data can be found by WONDER database, by topic, or by A-Z index.

This site provides access to data and statistics for Medicare and Medicaid Data & Statistics. The site includes a tool called CMS DataNavigator, which lets users retrieve data sets by program, setting/type of care, topic, geography, and document type.

This website contains statistics and data collected by the HRSA. This data can be found by topic, by geography, or by data tool. According the HRSA website, the HRSA is a U.S. government agency that provides health care programs to geographically isolated and economically or medically vulnerable people. It also oversees donor programs (such as organ donors), compensates people harmed by vaccinations, and works to prevent health care malpractice, fraud, waste, and abuse.

This website allows users to search for performance reviews of Medicare and Medicaid-certified nursing homes. Users can search by name, city, state, or ZIP.

This page contains links to health statistics from the NCHS, a division of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This page provides links to new data releases, summary statistics of topical areas through FastStats, links to NCHS surveys and data systems, and links to other CDC sites with data.

This webpage contains estimates on health insurance coverage for counties and states. Data currently dates from 2000 to 2016.

[Available to UNC faculty, students, and staff] Provides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. U.S. health data includes the most commonly used variables and geographies.

This website provides access to state and sub-state level substance abuse and mental health data. Users can find the data in a variety of ways, including some Fast Finder links that allow topical and publication browsing.

[Available to UNC faculty, students, and staff] Data Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The over 12.6 billion datasets in Data Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. Data comes from more than 70 U.S. and international sources including Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, China Data Institute, Deutsche Borse Group, European Commission, the World Bank, and more. The site allows for searching by subject and subjects covered by the data include health and vital statistics. The time period covered varies.

Funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development, the Demographic and Health Surveys Program collects, analyzes, and disseminates representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries. The STATcompiler tool found on the site allows the user to make custom tables, charts, and maps based on thousands of DHS indicators across countries.

This page has a list of links to both government and non-government health statistical sites. It includes state and county data.

This website by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation provides health statistics by topic or by state.

The State Center for Health Statistics creates the County Health Data Book on an annual basis to provide communities with quantitative data to support community health assessments. Topics include pregnancy and live births, life expectancy, morbidity, and mortality.

This page provides a portal to publications of the NC Department of Health and Human Services. Publications can be searched by topic or by DHHS division.

Website of DHHS division responsible for data collection and research, this site provides access to health statistics and reports (including county-level statistics) and interactive health data.

This Medicaid.gov site has some North Carolina-specific Medicaid statistics and data.

This webpage has summary data reports on the uninsured in NC. The earliest report is 2005-2006, and the latest report is 2015. These reports are provided by the the North Carolina Institute of Medicine, an independent, quasi-state agency.

This website has data and publications about health care professionals in North Carolina. It is developed by Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This site is a collection of digitized public health resources collected by the State Library of North Carolina and arranged by topic. Most of the documents are historical, but some are more current.